Day of the Melbourne Cup.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
November 4th 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey hey,

Since today is the day of the famous Melbourne Cup I decided to write a few lines to tell you how I've been.
Still haven't seen any sharks, snakes or poisenous spiders and work's still the usual boring data entry. The weekend was very relaxed and nothing much happened. Sunday night I finally got to see the supposedly best club there is in Australia - a medium big, very nicely designed gay club with nice people, good music, and even some show-dancing. It was a fun night, and we might do it again sometime. I mean, not everyone is lucky enough to live right next to the best club of the country. Gotta take advantage of that, right?

In case people have never heard of the Melbourne Cup (just like me, before I came here), it's the big horse-racing event that's famous for the excentric hats people wear to the occasion. I had no idea how huge this thing really is. The whole city basically shuts down in order to bet on horses, watch all those funny people and their even funnier hats and talk about how #3 really doesn't have any chances of winning this year. Even the office shut down for a while, I was forced into betting $2 on 2 different horses (which btw started off well, but ended up loosing) and I got to watch the race on an extremely big flat screen TV in the hospital's auditorium.

Apart from that, the election is on tomorrow, so lets have all fingers crossed for Obama!

That's about it... nothing exciting to tell (...again...), but I promise next week will be a bit more interesting and picture-ish since I'll be going to Byron Bay for the weekend.

Cheers, L.




05/11/2008. Just leaving a quick note, as we've all been watching BBC all day and are very excited about Obama's win and the long-needed end of the Bush-era (except for the lab-head who apparently seems to favour republicans). Very nice 'I have a dream'-speech by him and I'm just quite stoked to find out if he can actually keep his word (or at least most of it). Good luck with that!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb