Nachtrag + Wochenende


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Surfers Paradise
October 20th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey there,

finally an update even though nothing too exciting has happened. Work's the usual: boring.

However, the weekend of the 11th we paid a large amount of money to go on a dolphin-sightseeing-kayaking-tour. Obviously, it had to be the one weekend I was introduced to my first Australian rain. We went anyway. Initially we had planned to go to Rainbow Beach but the waves were to high and therefore we went to some other beach I can't remember the name of. The water was grey, the sky was grey - all in all a wonderful trip. Even though we did see some dolphin fins (that was it.) the actual highlight of the trip was the army of soldier crabs we saw marching up and down the beach. There are some pictures but I don't quite have them yet so I'll post them another time.

Also, that weekend I decided to finally go out and explore Australia's nightlife. M. had warned me about the Aussie drinking habits and I have to admit - she was right. Party started at 8:00 pm (Yes, they start and finish early) and people started to act drunk at around 8:10 pm. Apparently they had been pre-drinking. I was quite shocked that people were actually falling over and doing all sorts of other things I don't feel like mentioning here. Heavy drinking seems to be part of they're culture somehow and I'm not sure if I can get used to that.

The previous weekend M. went to Melbourne for 3 days and I had the flat to myself. Sunday D. asked me if would wanna come to Surfer's Paradise (Gold Coast) and I did. It was a relaxing and beautiful day and we spent most of the day on the beach. I uploaded some Gold Coast pictures and hope you'll enjoy them.

Cheers,
L.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The beachThe beach
The beach

footprints in the sand...
D.D.
D.

In the background: the first surfer I've met so far. Maybe the whole 'everyone in Australia can surf'-thing is just another one of those frequent stereotypes.
Surfer's ParadiseSurfer's Paradise
Surfer's Paradise

...and two parrots.
Surfer's ParadiseSurfer's Paradise
Surfer's Paradise

An ibis. It started eating someone's french fries later on.


21st October 2008

Beach!
You went to the beach and didn't invite me? Rude! Kayaking too! Sucks for the rain though... has been raining here too. I'm glad to see you are seeing some of AU though! Hope you find some better nightlife! :-) Have fun!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb