Here there and everywhere at Easter


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 24th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Good Friday SunsetGood Friday SunsetGood Friday Sunset

we had fish and chips at Raby Bay - I like this reflection shot of the under the boardwalk


We had a fantastic Easter and we didn't even really go away anywhere, just here and there.


We spent a lovely Good Friday dyeing eggs, baking hot cross buns, then headed of to the grandparents and went swimming in their somewhat heated pool - so nice to still be swimming - very relaxing - well that is if you don't count the crazy kids bomb diving on top of us. We then headed down to the water and had fish and chips for dinner at Raby Bay. The sunset was magnificent and we took some lovely photos in the golden glow. The kids dangled over the edge looking at all the little fish that they were tricking by dropping leaves in to them.... the fish thought they were being kindly fed, so hordes of them came to the top to eat the food - after falling for this trick numerous times, they soon wisened up.


On Saturday I went to the New Farm Farmers Markets with mum and my sister. A nice relaxing start to the day. I was even so lucky to get a free massage!! My sister wanted one at a $1 a minute stall and when she sat down I saw that the Massuer was my husbands cousin!! So if anyone needs a good massage I have just the guy for you. I had spent all my money on food and fruit when he kindly told me to sit down and I was getting a massage anyway!! And all those of you who have kids know - we mums have lots of knots in our backs!! So I was relieved of my knots for a little while. I recommend going to see Glenn down at the New Farm Markets - though you wont be lucky enough as me to get it for free!!


We then made some lovely easter treats. I saw this idea of chocolate and crunchy noodles mixed to make "nests" and then sit an easter egg on top - very easy and very yummy!! Since Easter is all about the gift of eternal life given to us from Jesus I thought my children should be involved in some sort of service at easter time. They helped deliver our little treats to a few friends.


Sunday was church and a leisurely afternoon at home. This is the spiritual part of the weekend for our family.


Monday was the day our children have been counting down to for the last few weeks. The annual family breakfast BBQ at North Pine Dam with my side of the family. We had the best breakfast of chocolate milk, camembert, brie cheeses, grapes, pancakes, waffles, bacon, maple syrup, etc etc.... OHHH soooo GOOD!! We had a family photo shoot with my sisterin law who is a photographer and it pretty good at it - she had her work cut our for her - a baby who never wants her photo taken, messy hair, no make up, a family of 5 would scare even seasoned photographers!! Well we managed to get a few good ones out of it - so thanks to her for giving us a family portrait finally!! The weather started out sunny but turned cloudy and even rained - perfect for the dam (see last years blog on how low the water was)


Then last but not least - the easter egg hunt and easter pinata - we have been working on that one for weeks. We made an egg shape pinata and filled it with lots of goodies. This kept the girls busy for a few weeks making it and looking forward to cracking it open. In the end it was too tough, the children couldn't break it. Uncle had to have a go, and even broke the stick against it - we made a strong pinata! In the end the broken stick was used to stab through it and flung the pinata up very high in the sky and all the eggs and lollies came raining down. I will say it was a pretty good pinata! The egg hunt had all the children out with their cute bunny bags looking for eggs in the grass, up in the trees - hidden everywhere. More than enough chocolate for everyone.


We had a great easter and I think it lived up to the kids expectations - they love holidays.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 71; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb