Back to Civilisation


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
January 22nd 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me Arriving in BrisbaneMe Arriving in BrisbaneMe Arriving in Brisbane

I've got a t-shirt on because it's hot, I've got shades on because it's sunny. Bliss
The additional photos have now been added.
I've also added a video to the "Further Plans" blog. Worth watching for a laugh.

I landed in Brisbane about 5 days ago and it was instantly more relaxed. For starters everybody spoke English, the customs guy was even a Machine Head fan, the sun was shining, there was nobody hassling you for taxis, and I presumed you didn't have to crap into a hole (like in Beijing).
The journey took a while as I had to fly via Hong Kong and Taipei (Taiwan) although I was just glad to be in the country after the panic at Taipei. I went to check in again as I had been told, but when the girl was looking through my passport she asked me where my Visa for Australia was? I explained that I was British (silly girl, we own Australia) but she explained that, unless you're Australian, then you need a Visa and it isn't like flying to America where you fill it in on the plane - without a Visa she couldn't give me a boarding pass! This was at 8:45 with the take off at 9:45 but she explained that the airport's immigration office closes at 9! She said she would give me the address of where I needed to sort the Visa but I needed to be back at the desk by 9 o'clock. I thought I would barely be in a taxi by then. I was releived to see it was a web address and the airport had various PCs with internet access so I got it sorted but still involved crapping myself for 15 mins.
Then on the plane I saw a guy with the longest mole hair I have ever seen. I hope you can see it in the picture because it was just ludicrous - he had a mole with long grey hairs about 2 inches long growing out of it. The weird thing was that he was with his wife and two teenage daughters! Surely they'd say something.
Brisbane is possibly the nicest city I've ever been to, everything is really clean and well thought about. There's art right through the city and you get the impression that they thought about every building project with style in mind. I spent most of today on the South Bank where they have built a mini beach next to
Hell of a photoHell of a photoHell of a photo

I haven't done anything to this picture, this is just how I took it.
the river, although it was only about 20 degrees today, hopefully it will be back up to the high 20s tomorrow. The whole South Bank area is really stylish and geared towards entertainment. When I was there last night there were a load of kids doing breakdancing, juggling, unicycling and all kinds of dancing and stuff. I don't think it was an organised thing but there is a big amphitheatre where you can go and do whatever you want.
I'll definitely be coming back to Brisbane some time in the future and would certainly recommend it. Check out these photos, some of them are mint.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Human StatuesHuman Statues
Human Statues

These guys looked really realistic. They must be the most hardcore human statues I've ever seen...
Human Statues at nightHuman Statues at night
Human Statues at night

...they\'re still there at night! That guy\'s back must be killing.
Streets BeachStreets Beach
Streets Beach

This is the man made beach on the South Bank. It reminds me of the south bank of the Eden. Unfortunately it was a bit of a dull day when this was taken.
I'm no ornathologist...I'm no ornathologist...
I'm no ornathologist...

...but looking at this creature's beak, feathers and wings I would say it's a bird.
More artworkMore artwork
More artwork

These are really cool. Just another example of how much artwork is scattered around the city.
Another bird I thinkAnother bird I think
Another bird I think

This wandered across my path in the main park. It was about 3 metres in length (although only looks about 2 ft in the photo)
A frogA frog
A frog

This bloody frog kept jumping around while I tried to take a picture of it, but I found a neat solution.
One for the ladiesOne for the ladies
One for the ladies

Some flourescent flowers
Huge SnakesHuge Snakes
Huge Snakes

You see these snakes all over the place. Fortunately they're very timid and you can even touch them. They feel like plastic or rubber piping. Weird.
The Hairy MoleThe Hairy Mole
The Hairy Mole

Just wrong. Maybe he's some kind of Kung Fu master and this is his thing, like Drunken Master or Eagle Claw.


22nd January 2008

Hot stuff
Quote "I've got a t-shirt on because it's hot, I've got shades on because it's sunny. Bliss" - Just like your brother - where are your shorts bruce?
26th January 2008

Glad to hear you're having fun again! That night photo is amazing.
29th January 2008

Nice flowers, thanks for that!
30th January 2008

I know what the ladies like
4th February 2008

im so jealous!
Hi there!! sitting here at storys being bored out of my mind, i figured i wud c how matty boy was getting on!! n oh my god u seem to have been bloody everywhere!! n just for the record this blog web crack has taken me ages to figure out, n after a few mis haps i seem to have found most ov ur entrys ( u no computers arnt my thing the amount ov times i used to ring u for help!ha!) but now ive red them i must admit u hav gave me a laugh or 2 or 3!!!! ur mole shout has cracked me up!!! n it is the hairyest ive eva seen!!! shame on wife n daughters for not having them out of his face!!! n the train forwards n backwards that has totally tickled me2!!!!! anyway heading home or not uv done it mr!!! well done its an achievement in its self!! good luck in newcastle !! c u soon!! Shell x
8th February 2008

birds (the feathered variety)
Matt - that bird with the blumin great beak - one of those chased me across a bridge in Darwin last April - I swear its the same one, watch out for them, those critters get everywhere.... Ps try Singapore for civlised asian-ness the orchid gardens have lots more flourescent flowers and they can't hassle you as they chop peoples hands off for less.... justice...

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb