Another slight change of plan


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Sarasota
February 2nd 2008
Published: February 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so despite Brisbane being a really great city it was getting a little lonely. You meet some cool people but it's not like having your friends around you. The main problem was that hostels really aren't for me. They're all decent as far as hostels go but they're basically what I've been working for the last few years to get away from - no privacy, nowhere to put any belongings. You literally live out of a bag which is just hassle.

To cut a long story short, rather than continuing to haemorrhage money on something that was okay I've decided to change this from travelling to an extended break and come back to England early. I'm currently in Sarasota, Florida where my parents conveniently bought a place last week (free accomodation), which is good timing considering they've been toying with the idea for over 10 years. I'll be back in England in about 3 weeks time. Obviously I'm disappointed at the travelling not working out but I certainly don't regret it - I've had some quality days and experiences, met some sound people and seen a few different countries and had a nice long holiday. I'll definately be going
Sunset from my folks' gaffSunset from my folks' gaffSunset from my folks' gaff

12 years ago they started thinking about looking into the possibility of maybe considering buying somewhere abroad. I think they're happy with their purchase.
back to some of these places (well Australia anyways).

Sarasota's a nice town - really laid back, fairly near the beach and - most importantly - bloody hot (I've heard it's been snowing over there). It's about the same temperature as it was in Oz so I'm basically spending my time eating, drinking and swimming. You can't go wrong with steak and eggs for breakfast followed by excessive amounts of chicken wings.

I'm hiring a car next week and driving to Cape Canaveral to see a shuttle launch which is something I've always wanted to do, fingers crossed it doesn't get cancelled and I'll stay over in Orlando for a few nights. Before my parents head back in about 10 days we'll be heading out in a boat with a few others to do a bit of sea fishing (when in Rome).

I'll probably publish another entry before I come back, hopefully including a few shots of a shuttle launch.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

It's a stressful lifeIt's a stressful life
It's a stressful life

I've been developing my gut to blend in with the locals. Don't get your hopes up fat boys, there's a gym here so I'm back training now.
The alligator pondThe alligator pond
The alligator pond

View from my parents' deck.
The friendly neighbourThe friendly neighbour
The friendly neighbour

That\'s why it\'s called the Alligator Pond. Apparently it is more scared of us than we are of it - clearly an idiot!


4th February 2008

Coming Home!
Surprised to hear your're coming back so early, but it'll be great to see you when you move back to sunny Newcastle, definitely on for a night out now that i'm a student again!!
8th February 2008

Back to geordie land
Hey matt, just been reading your last installment, sorry to hear that it hasn't worked out too well with the travelling lark, I agree though - hostels do just not sit well with us posh birds and boys - the word itself has one too many s's in it for me... Anyway if your heading to the north east you can come party with me as, to be fair, I think I may have been unwittingly duped by my new employer and might be there slightly longer than originally planned - bugger! I was looking forward to sun and noodles too, will just have to make do with you for entertainment value!
13th February 2008

gaters
You call that a gut?? Not quite, but I do like the sideburns. Its windy and cold here in the high desert, so I'm pretty jealous you're soaking up the sun. Glad you're having fun again! I'm crossing my fingers for the shuttle launch!
14th February 2008

Crossed fingers
You can uncross your fingers, the launch was last Thursday and it was successful. You've let me down Meg - I've put all my energy into not insulting dumb Americans and there you go letting the side down... There's not much sun to soak up at the moment as it has been pissing stair rods for the last couple of days. I still have a few days to at least make it look like I've seen the sun.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb