No where to hide...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Fortitude Valley
September 8th 2006
Published: September 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Greetings!

so......i am sat in the computer room at the hostel as no where is safe!
Have been bitten pretty badly by god knows what in my room in the last week, have moved beds twice and yesterday my wrist and fingers swelled up after a particularly nasty reaction to a few bites on my hand. My hand is still swollen but its the bite that I got on my eye lid last night that finally pushed me in to action. Woke up this morning and my eye was so swollen I couldn't open it! It has gone down loads now but gave me quite a shock. Had to go to the Dr and get some ointment etc but not only did I have to call in sick at work, losing a days pay I also had to pay $50 to Dr and another $27 in lotions and potions! Am moving room but have to wash all my clothes first and leave my bags out in the sun inside bin liners! so am waiting to do that but in the mean time don't want to sit in my room for fear of bites and there is also a problem in the TV room with people getting bitten so don't want to risk sitting in there so am confined to the computer room! All fun and games!

anyway, work is going well and actually quite enjoy it and the people I am working with are a good laugh. Even the perm staff are friendly which is quite unusual when you're temping!
There is a Friday drinking ritual after work which is always a good sign and a "quick drink" after work last Friday turned in to a drunken night involving getting my very drunk workmate to a bus stop in the opposite direction to where I live!

Having joined fitness first I have been making a bit of effort and have been to a couple of classes this week and used to gym so getting my moneys worth. Am very sore but its a good pain!

Other than that have nothing to exciting to report - might venture in to my room for my book now! Thrilling life as a traveller! :-)

Advertisement



8th September 2006

Bugs
It won't be easy, but with rest, a cleaner environment and a better diet I'm sure the bugs will recover. Luv Dad
8th September 2006

famous
hey you! that is horrible to hear bout those insects....you should push to get some of your rent reduced untill the infestation clears!! what are the owners doing about it?? they should pay for your medicine!! its been pretty grim at work, but thats all I can say. just so you know I am having a party on the 15th you are invited (but I ill assume you cant come!!) how is everyone else, have you left ro and katie?
11th September 2006

Bugtastic..or not!
Hey darl, was good to talk yesterday, sorry it was short, but gotta watch my phone bill or ill get slapped wrists..again! Hope teh bug problem calms down mate, that cant have been a ncie way to wake up..and agree with previous comment, you should ask for some kind of compensation like a free night or 2s stay...threaten them with bad publicity... ;-) Monday morning, again! chat soon lovely, hugs, K xxx

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb