Fifth Stop...I think


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Fortitude Valley
January 27th 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Alright so it's been awhile since we've been near a computer. We actually spent three more days in Byron, two days in Surfers Paradise and two days in Brisbane since the last time I wrote on this thing. Oh yeah and I just wanted to wish a happy belated birthday to Leah and Jen. I heard you guys had fun in Windsor and i missed out, although Towner, bullshit it's 34 degrees there but it is here. I don't even remember what I've talked about on this thing and what I haven't. So we'll start with the rest of Byron. We met a lot more really cool people, one girl from Texas, Katie, spent most of the rest of our days there with us which consisted of the beach and drinking from the goon at night. For those of you who don't know what a goon is, it's the bag of wine from inside a box of wine, you take it out and you slap it, and that is how you slap the goon. You can also play goon of fortune where you put the goon on a clothes wire and spin it and whoever it lands above drinks from the goon. We love our goons over here, they're cheap and fun. They also start a lot of sing-a-longs. We also met some guys from Tazmania, one of them looked like Seth Cohen, and he told me I looked like Jessica Alba, I got it on video, I'm not lying. He may have had a few goons but obviously that had nothing to do with it. We also met two hilarious Irish guys, one of them had just gotten a tattoo of Tupac on his back about one foot tall and half a foot wide, it took three hours and cost $400. He was funny more to laugh at, than with but amusing nonetheless. Besides some table dancing and flashing the whole beach (those waves wreak havoc with bikinis) it was your typical end of the week fun.
So that brings us to Surfers. We actually stayed away from the sun for a bit there due to some pretty bad burns, sorry mom, the reapplication of suntan lotion may have been missed in a few spots, I tried. But we met up with some canadian girls from Oakville and Kitchener, yeah that's right we came to Australia to party with Canadians (one guy told us that Australians are actually a myth and only exist in Perth and some other place, I wasn't listening all I heard was Perth and I was happy) and played some drinking games and went out for a night on the town at a bar with a retro night theme. Unfortunately the night on the town consisted of a bar that contained men dressed up like women. One of the hostels seemed to think this was the definition of retro. So we had some fun with them for a bit but after watching a girl make out with a guy dressed up like a girl we decided that was the end of the night, no way in hell was i making out with a guy dressed up like me. The next night we had our first in night in a week, the liver needed to recover. Then it was off to Brisbane for Australian day. Our first day in Brisbane was great, we met some more cool people (I'm actually not going to mention that anymore, take it as a given, I will from now on only mention the uncool people ie. the girls this morning who thought it was okay to have a conversation at 6 am... not cool) However, this place had one small drawback, and that would be the 30 people in our room, that's right 3-0, not 3.0 but 3-0. Good thing it was only for two days, on a side note, apparently we've been lucky so far as we have not had anyone in our room having sex. We were told by some people that this happens often. Didi (he's from Belgium ad his name is actually Didire and he told me he hated the name didi, he really shouldn't have told me that) told us a story about how he walked into his room and two guys on the upper bunks were just watching, I suppose as the bunk bed was shaking the one guy really couldn't sleep anyway. His friend Matt said that it happened to him except he was the one on the top bunk and it's actually just degrading because you have to hang out and wait until they're finished. Alright I got side tracked, so on Australia day we went to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, and fed some kangaroos (note to Caro we were actually plumping them up for dinner) and held a koala and got our picture taken with it, don't worry mom and dad I got a a copy for you too and saw a bunch of other Australian animals incuding a dingo, who I'm happy to say did not take any babies. Then we treated ourselves to dinner and watched some fireworks and went out, yet again. Unfortunately I fell in love with a bartender and as the place didn't close until 5 am and I was off today, it was a love doomed from the start. So that brings us up today with probably only an eighth of the stories actually mentioned but I've only got so much time and I'm sure you all just really hate me right now and stopped reading about half way through, which is sad for you because you're going to miss me saying this, I miss you all so much and I cry myself to sleep, okay not really because in a room full of 30 people that would be pretty embarassing but I really do miss you all and DD (not the Belgium one, but my cousin) I hope that you believe that. alright that's all I've got, good luck with the tanning Tower and Jackson in that 34 degree weather.
miss you all
Cheers
Kristen

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb