My Last few days in Australia


Advertisement
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The "True Backbackers"The "True Backbackers"The "True Backbackers"

Lawrie & Marlene(left ) with friends, back in 1972 in Istanbul... Nice Moustache Lawrie!!!
Its my last day in Australia, tomorrow i'm off to New Zealand, like always before finishing my last destination i am ready to move onto my next destination, although it has been very nice to returned to "The Fegan Family" to enjoy & share my last few days with them all.



It was so nice going through some of their old photos and travel stories and they couldn't let me leave without having a traditional Oz BBQ 😊 and you guys back home know how i like a good old Barbie!!!

Luckily Lawrie had a day off the next day so he kindly took me up to Mt Nebo for some small treks and shown me their Cafe they use to own. Whilst on our walk we came across a huge strangling fig tree that was calling me to climb it and when some passer by told us he use to climb it when he was younger it was the green light for me to do my thing 😊

It was so cool being in the inside of it and then finally getting near the top and sticking my head out to see how small Lawrie
Marlene In Ghardaia- AlgeriaMarlene In Ghardaia- AlgeriaMarlene In Ghardaia- Algeria

Marlene stuck in Ghardaia, whilst waiting/finding a ride to head down south through to the Sahara desert in 1974. Love the Straw hut and date trees. Looks like a scene from a movie.
looked from up there. The 3 guys we meet was very friendly who also kindly informed us the name of the tree "Fairy Tree".. they also tried to climb it but was a bit worried as they have drinking.

A nice slice of cake & coffee at Cafe Boombana ( Lawrie & Marlene old cafe), Giving Lawrie a great opportunity to catch with some old local faces and update himself with all the latest gossip in Mt Nebo & Glorious. It was such a nice day meeting all these lovely friendly people up there, climbing the tree and trampling in the forest.



Its my turn to cook!!!!... i thought it would be a nice thank you guesture and also to give Marlene a break for once that i will cook for the family. Although i must admit its very brave of them as i havent really cooked properly for the last 5 months. It went ok althogh it took longer than expected due to the fact i only had one big frying pan to cook 3 dishes.. they must have been very hungry and at that point they would have eaten anything.



Well
Spot the "TOURIST"!!!Spot the "TOURIST"!!!Spot the "TOURIST"!!!

Lawrie trying Paw Paw fruit in Kano in Nigeria in 1974.
if any of you Fegan's reading this....Thank you for having me in your beautiful home it was so nice to get to know your family and both yourself that little more closely.



Take care and its not going to be the last time you see me unfortunately ...SORRY!!!!!...I"LL BE BACK!!!!...before you know it.... hehehehehehe

Im so loking forward to heading over to New Zealand, met some girls in Noosa and we're gonna meet up there to hire a car and travel together. Should be a lots of fun and adventure.... WOOOHOOO!!!!!!... 😊






Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Lawrie on the Barbie!!!Lawrie on the Barbie!!!
Lawrie on the Barbie!!!

Looking great with his hat.
Jolly LookoutJolly Lookout
Jolly Lookout

Sorry guys you might have to see more pictures of me from now on, as my Mum complained there wasnt enough pics of me the blogs. hmmmm..personally i prefer Landscapes and sunset...are you all bored of all my sunset pics?
Spot The Chunder!!!Spot The Chunder!!!
Spot The Chunder!!!

In the tree... can you see me?
A well deserved treat!!!A well deserved treat!!!
A well deserved treat!!!

with all my climbing and Lawrie vine swinging...
Me cooking...wooohooo!!Me cooking...wooohooo!!
Me cooking...wooohooo!!

Its so nice to have a nice big kitchen to cook in...


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb