A lazy day in Airlie


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
December 8th 2011
Published: December 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Not a lot to report today I'm afraid. I was having far too much fun in the sun. Exhausted from the drive yesterday, I thought it best to lie by the Airlie Beach lagoon for a few hours, writing my Christmas cards and taking a dip in the warm water. The lagoon is the same as Cairns - at the shore line but with a much more beautiful view of the ocean, with gorgeous yachts bobbing in the harbour, and the Whitsunday islands on the horizon. The palm trees that line the shore just give it a real feeling of being in a tropical paradise. Jealous yet?!

Aside from that, I managed to post the cards and do my washing, see a rat the size of a cat, and decide to go on an ocean raft trip, only to be told (after I'd paid) that I was too late and the final spot had gone. Looks like I'll be hitting the road tomorrow rather than sailing the Whitsundays. I'm disappointed but not wholly gutted either - it's so busy here that all the boats are full up. Somehow I can't see Whitehaven beach being as quiet as I imagine it to be tomorrow. All is not entirely lost as I'm on the cancellation list, so at 7am, I'll be in reception clinging to any last hope of being able to see the islands. Otherwise it's a case of 'next time'!

Today's funny anecdote from the lagoon is that I heard my first Christmas songs. The weather is a glorious blue sky, no clouds, 31 degrees, and Mariah Carey is wailing her lungs out with 'All I want for Christmas is you'. The line 'I won't even wish for snow' just cracked me up...hard to imagine snow right now! I went to the supermarket in the afternoon and heard the pan pipes version of the same song. Mariah is stalking me, it's official...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb