I want to be a mermaid...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
May 29th 2006
Published: June 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ready for the reef...Ready for the reef...Ready for the reef...

This suit protected me from any stingers that had been left behind after the season, it also kept me alot warmer and was great to sit on the sand without it sticking to you...
For the past 3 nights I have been living at sea on a boat called Spank Me. There was 20 of us and 4 crew members. It was all very exciting as I'd never been sailing before...and what a way to start, around the Whitsunday Islands...

Our first day we went to Whitehaven Beach on Whitsunday Island...this sand was the most softest and whitest sand that I have ever seen in my life. It is 90 something percent silica you just totally sank in it...the sea water would come across certain sections allowing you to wade through to get to an area completely surrounded by water...
In the afternoon we sailed to Luncheon Bay and I had my first go at snorkelling...the reef was so colourful and suprisingly close to the beach...it was really shallow too so you could see absolutely heaps by just snorkelling...not that i'm bitter about failing my diving medical or anything...ahahah...there were these cool purple squiggly things that scrunched together if you went near it...

The evenings on the boat were lovely, dinner up on deck with the cool sea breeze and a few drinks. The group had a good mixture of ages and nationalities
Sunset at sea...Sunset at sea...Sunset at sea...

My very first sunset whilst out at sea...
and we all got on really well. It was rather uncomfortable though after a while up on deck, so we ended up making a chain of bodies to lay our heads on each others legs/stomachs to make things a little more comfortable...but if one person moved it would just ruin the whole system...

Day two was what I've been waiting for...the outer great barrier reef! We went to Bait Reef and it was the strangest feeling being in such open water, right out at sea away from everything...kind of made me think of that film Open Water, but I was quick to push that out of my mind! I did heaps of snorkelling again at different reefs, our vessel had a little motorised dingy attached to it, which took us from the boat and dropped us off at different reefs to explore...
One reef was really shallow in sections, but then after a while of flipping my way across it I came to the part which just suddenly drops off...man was that scary, you can't see anything down there, and I'm certain that's where the big scary sharks lurk...quickly turning around I swam back to the beautiful reef and
Slowly sinking...Slowly sinking...Slowly sinking...

Was quite difficult to walk further out in the water as the sand would just swallow your feet...
actually found Nemo...ahaha...

Our last day was spent snorkelling another reef that was closer to Hayman Island...this one had heaps of fish and one massive one called Elvis because it had a humphead...it scared me a bit when I first saw it as it was so huge! My favourite part of the whole trip actually was on this day, where I was completely amongst hundreds of stunning fish that were swarming around me...it was a wonderful feeling and reminded me of how I used to pretend to be a mermaid when I was little...although this experience was slightly different compared to when I used to just swim to the bottom of a swimming pool and look up at the light, swirling around with my hair like Ariel to the top of the water...ahahah...yes, this time I was in a mermaids real environment...and I loved every second of it...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Cramped and cosy...Cramped and cosy...
Cramped and cosy...

I had one of the thinner bunks on the boat, not really much room to move compared to the other beds...
Spank Me...Spank Me...
Spank Me...

My cosy home for three days and three nights, the mighty Spank Me...
Whitehaven Beach...Whitehaven Beach...
Whitehaven Beach...

It was a shame the sun wasn't out, but the sand here was just unbelievable...
Toilet / ShowerToilet / Shower
Toilet / Shower

Very interesting to use, whether your going to the toilet or having a shower...


1st June 2006

freak!
half sister, half fish! speak later, pib xxxx mmmwaahhh
1st June 2006

Yo Fishy!
Looking good sis, photos are great, its great that you are enjoying yourself still and having a great time...just think this time next year will be a tad different so make sure and enjoy....9 days, come on ENGLAND!!! pib x mmmwaahh
2nd June 2006

Ah memories !
Hi beautiful mum here, loved the journal and photos. Each journal never ceases to amaze me of your fantastic adventures. Not long before you start New Zealand eh! Enjoy...........you know the rest hehe!!!!!God Bless Love you mum xxx

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb