Last days in Airlie Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
October 16th 2010
Published: November 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I feel like I have been in Airlie Beach forever.

Today, I went to meet Rona who is lucky enough to be working on a Whitsunday Island/boat. We didn't get up to much exciting (for a non-backpacker that is) but just caught the bus to the good shops and cheap supermarkets. It was lovely to catch up with Rona, an old friend by travelling terms even though it was only short and sweet.

The afternoon brought with it a swim in the lagoon (which is strangely right next to the (jellyfish-ridden) sea) with Martyn and his friend. Followed by another evening at Beaches, ending with everyone going for drinks on Rich's balcony.

Finally time to leave Airlie, I checked out, stored my luggage for the day and went a wandering again. Until I was soon back to the lagoon where within 2 hours with SPF 30+ on, I burnt. Pretty badly. So badly that my nightbus journey that night was the most uncomfortable ever.

The day was rounded off by visiting a little market with Rich and Katrina, back to the balcony for chats and a bit of live street music and it was soon time to leave for Cairns on a ten hour night bus...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009kb