First Day in Airlie Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
October 12th 2010
Published: November 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hop off the bus to be the only person not greeted by my hostel - they don't run shuttles from the bus station. So, in the rain, I start walking in the hope that I'll be able to find it (forgot to check where it was!) Luckily, Airlie really isn't too big so it wasn't difficult.

There's a queue at check in so I get in it and watch as all the people in front of me check in. My turn.

"Sorry you can't check in yet. You'll have to wait until 11.00am."

It's now just about to turn 7.00am. Normally, this wouldn't bother me but I was pretty tired from the bus, everyone before me was able to check in and it was raining so there was nowhere to go. I can't complain too much however seeing as it was free accommodation (included in my Whitsundays offer.)

So I found a little sheltered picnic bench and like a homeless person, fell asleep sitting at it. Hmmmm. Woke up not quite refreshed. Still had a couple of hours to kill so I rummaged for my trusty umbrella and wandered around the town. Five minutes later and I've seen the town.

By the time 11.00am arrived, I was truly grouchy. "Ok you can go into your room now but please be patient as the cleaners may not have been in yet." Oh good. So I've waited 4 hours for what exactly?!

I walk into the room and indeed it is a tip. And then I walked into the bathroom and there was vomit all over the toilet seat. Good times. So I left my stuff on the bed (bottom bunk - get in!!) and went to check in for my boat. I return to the room and the room is clean, and the cleaners were so thorough that they thew my umbrella and bottle of water away.

The evening however, turned out to be better. Dom was in town so I went for pizza, drinks and a catch up with him which was lovely. A nice end to a not so nice day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 98; dbt: 0.0938s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb