Slow Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
June 13th 2010
Published: June 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

An Easy to sort pictureAn Easy to sort pictureAn Easy to sort picture

I zoomed in to have a close up of the fin, but the picture is in focus, with the animal at a good angle. The shading and lack of glare also makes it easy to see the marks on the animal.
Today was a very blah and unexciting day. The wind was horrendous, so we slept in a little bit. I did a bit of reading and work on the internet this morning, and at around 11 Daniele headed off to the gym. Katharina went to the airport to pick up Guido, and I stayed home, cleaned the house and did a bit more reading. Around 2 Daneile came back from the gym, and he and I chatted a bit. He has given me the pictures we are taking out on the water, so I spent a few hours going through and sorting those. To build a photo ID catalog, you separate the pictures by date and then sighting. Then you divide the pictures up based on the individual animals. This can be really difficult depending on the angle of the picture, any glare and the focus of the picture. Usually I go through and put all the bad pictures in a folder. I never delete them, just in case. Then I go through and sort out all the easier animals. For example some animals have very large scars and chunks missing out of their fins, while other animals have little to
A picture really difficult to sort.A picture really difficult to sort.A picture really difficult to sort.

This animal does not have any larger nicks to distinguish it. Also, glare and lack of focus make it very difficult to sort.
no means of distinguishing their fins.
I started playing some music, and as i am a fan of classic rock thats what I decided to play. Unbeknownst to me classic rock is huge in Italy, and Daniele knew most of the songs I was playing and even was singing along. When I played Hotel California by the Eagles, he said it was his favorite all time song. He also mentioned that he grew up with Melrose Place, 90210 and other American movies and TV shows. He also told me just how big of an influence the US is on Italy. Apparently the biggest dream of young Italians is to drive route 66. He seems to know as much if not more about the US than I do which is a bit surprising.
Soon enough Katharina and Guido arrived home, and after talking for a bit Daniele started on dinner. He made spaghetti and bolognaise sauce. I have to say my mouth died happy today. His sauce was amazing! I honestly have probably never tasted such an amazing meat sauce.
Tomorrow we will also be off the water. The wind is not supposed to die down until later in the week, maybe thursday or friday. Katharina was originally supposed to leave on Tuesday, but she will most likely be staying. If she stays she has to focus and get a bunch of school work done, so I am going to go out and try to do some exploring. We shall see!!

Advertisement



22nd July 2010

dolphin pic
The good pic looks like Canter (i.e. the one that I wanted to name Dumbledore)!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb