Well, sorry its been ages!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
February 18th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello People,

Appologies for the long pause in blogs, ive been very busy cruising up the east coast. I have loads to tell you all so I think im going to do a few smaller blogs today rather than one huge one! I have loads of photos too, so that should please you all, or make you very jealous! ha ha.

Immeditaly after typing my last blog I booked my ticket on the Oz bus. I left Sydney at 6am on the 26th January, Australia Day. Some friends from work somehow managed to get me to go out for a 'few' goodbye drinks on the night before, and as I finally got into bed at 4am, and the taxi was at 5.15, I didnt get much sleep!! I was shattered, but it ment I slept a good long time on the bus. We went from Sydney to Barrington Tops national park, where we stayed in a small camp where we could night Kayak and ride horses, but I didnt bother doing any of it, as most people where just having a good time chatting and getting to know one another. Its a really good way of getting us to
Me again.Me again.Me again.

Got loads like this, but I will only load up these two!! :)
know each other, as it was only our bus there.

After our night at Barrington, we headed to Mojo surf camp, where we where staying for another night, by now we where all getting to know each other, so it was a good laugh all of us flailling about in the water together! As I had already done one surf camp I was doing really well, and I managed to stand up loads. This surf camp had somebody on shore taking photos for us all, and she was really good as she got loads of good photos of me! ha ha. Watch out Kelly Slater! ha ha.

For Surf Camp we then went to Byron Bay, again, I had already been to Byron, but it was fun to go again and this time stay in a hostel. We all went out to cheaky monkeys night club as a massive group, and the whole bus load of people had a fab time!! Me and Amy got very drunk and then spent the whole next day looking like death, but we did have fun!! I somehow managed to get myself into every competition going, so we one loads of stuff,
Sea WorldSea WorldSea World

Dolphins!!
free beer, 2 nights free accommodation each, 2 for 1 sea Kayaking. I was in a very competitive mood, and managed to get myself into the final for a $500 trip to Fraser Island, but I was robbed as the final thing we had to do was see who could make the longest line along the floor with our clothes. The lad I was against was in a long sleeved shirt and jeans, and I was in a little top and shorts. The crowd was not happy, they all booed the guy in charge saying how unfair it was, but basically they wanted to to stip off, and I wasnt going to! So that was rubbish!!!!! But we live and learn, and as it turns out the trip to fraser I booked myself was great, and I expect that boy had a rubbish time on his free one (that he would never have got without me beating all the other competitors!).

After a few nights in Byron, we headed for the Gold Coast and got off at Surfers Paradise. The best way to discribe Surfers is Magaluf in Australia! Amy and I decided not to bother going out on
Seaworld 2Seaworld 2Seaworld 2

More Dolphins
the town, and insead used the 3 days to visit Sea World and Dreamworld (the Aussie Alton Towers!!). We had such a good time, and come the nights we where so tired we just sat on the sofa in the bar and watched Simpsons, Futurama and any other rubbish they had on. We where pretty happy to move on as the hostel didnt have air con and it was stinking hot in the room, so it was hard to sleep.

Next stop was the Sunshine coast, and after a 1 hour stop in Noosa, which is the rich peoples playground, we got to Rainbow Beach. It is from here that we caught our ferry to Fraser Island. We booked ourselves onto a self drive tour, which means that you get bunged into a large 4x4 with 10 other people and sent off to drive all over a huge sand island with a ton of alcohol! It sounds a bit freaky, and to be fair, it was. Only a few of us could actually drive, as you had to have a license and be over 21, and of those of us that could, some didnt want to. The first guy to get behind the wheel was, to be completly honest, a twat. He was showing off and driving like an idiot! After a while he shouted back and asked for someone to open him a beer and pass it forward, which was the final straw for me and Amy who kicked off and got him out from behind the wheel. Which left me the only sober person who could drive. Anybody reading this who has been to Lake Makenzie will know how bad that road is, and I had to drive it in a top heavy Toyota 4x4 with 10 drunk people jumping about. I was sweating and physically shaking when I finally got there, as I nearly tiped up twice, but I just thank god I took the wheel cos I think we would have died had we let that guy stay driving! Driving on sand is so hard, the firm stuff by the water is ok, although the washout tracks are killers, but the soft stuff is so hard, it pulls the wheel out in all different directions and you have to be quite strong to keep it straight!

We camped in tents behind the dunes, and
Australia ZooAustralia ZooAustralia Zoo

Koala! They small pretty bad, and I held one at last, but my photo is not on CD, so you will have to wait for that one!
on the first night (after a few beers) we realised that our camp was surrounded by Dingos. They killed a teenage boy not too long ago, and we where told to always go to the loo in pairs, one to watch for Dingos, but there are actually quite scary, and even more so at night when you dont see them until they are right up close. Still, the second night camping proved better as we didnt see or hear one during the nights revelry! haha.

Our return back to Rainbow Beach was well recieved as we where all stinking after 3 days of not having a shower and only swimming in lakes. The next day was spent sat in a bar from 1.30pm till 10.30 watching the cricket, and loving that we beat the pants of the Aussies!!! And we made enough noise about it too!!!! ha ha.

After Rainbow Beach we got the bus to Harvey Bay, where we didnt do anything at all other than eat and sleep, and catch the bus to where I am now, Airlie Beach. This is where we caught our boat to sail the whitsundays. We had such a good time,
Croc ShowCroc ShowCroc Show

I watched the croc show, this is Mossman, their biggest Croc, he ate a dog!
and I made sure I brought anti sickness tablets so that I didnt get sea sick and they worked, so I had a fab time!!! Unfortunally we are no longer allowed to swim without stinger suits as we are now in Jelly fish territory, but it was lush to swim at Whitehaven Beach and we saw a Manta Ray swim right by us, which actually made me nearly pee my pants and I had to get out after that cos I was scared!

I went snorkling, which I didnt like at first, and it took me ages to get going, but once I did it was pretty cool. I still got a bit panicy at times and it was a bit clostrophobic when the coral was all around you, but it was cool to see the fish and reef so close. I took an underwater camera too, but that is just being developed now, so I have no idea if the photos came out or not. On the second night on the boat, there was sharks and dolphins swimming around the boat, so I decided against going back in again the next morning!!! Some people did and they where
Brisbane!Brisbane!Brisbane!

A night out in Brisbane, Team Sweeden, thats Emma and Lene, Me and Amy.
gutted that they DIDNT see any sharks!?!?!?!?! What? They looked scary enough from out of the water, I think I would have died if I had seen one when I was in the water!

Last night was another night of hooliganism for me and Amy. We went out with some people from our boat and ended up busking in a shop doorway at 3am, but it was funny, and we made about $7, which isnt to shabby for a couple of songs!! ha ha.

So thats it up till now, im sure I have missed out loads of stuff, but there is only so long I can spend in an internet cafe typing and uploading photos!!

Hope you are all well, I heard that its been snowing back home, and I found out yesterday that Take That had the Christmas number one! Go figure!!! ha ha ha.

Speak again soon, keep in touch xxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Brisbane 2Brisbane 2
Brisbane 2

Bam, Me, Amy, Lene and Seb, all Oz busers! ha ha.
Glasshouse MountainsGlasshouse Mountains
Glasshouse Mountains

This was a pretty cool view!
Fraser IslandFraser Island
Fraser Island

My arty photos of the shipwreck
Sand DunesSand Dunes
Sand Dunes

The sand Dunes we had to scale to get to Lake Wabby.
WhitsundaysWhitsundays
Whitsundays

One of the 72 Islands we sailed around. I have no idea which one though!
View from LookoutView from Lookout
View from Lookout

View from the lookout of Whitehaven Beach.


18th February 2007

Sailing
Glad your back safe, the pictures are great, I can`t believe you ate fish. Did you get sea sick in that small boat Luv Dadda XXXX
12th March 2007

Have you disappeared again? What you up to? Heard from any of the PGCE course people? Hopefully you will get on. Is all good here, havent seen most people for a while. We are going to Newton's house for his b/day so will catch up on any gossip then i guess!! Hope to hear form you soon.
15th June 2007

When are you coming home
XXXX

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb