Day 24 - Leaving Magnetic Island to head to The Whitsundays


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
March 15th 2024
Published: March 15th 2024
Edit Blog Post

I was up at 7am for the early leave today. I had a rubbish nights sleep last night. I was tossing, and turning until about 3am…. And for absolutely no reason! That’s annoying! I still got up on time.

Breakfast was pre-ordered, so no long wait today. I had an omelette today, which wasn’t my best decision. It had floppy bacon in it, which I don’t eat, so after pulling that out, it was quite a cold, sloppy option, but it still met my need! Obviously, that was chased down with a cappuccino.

We left for the public bus at 8:45, which will take us to a the ferry terminal. Our timing has been spot on today! As we arrived at the terminal, we were straight on to the ferry. It’s another beautiful day, so the crossing was pleasurable. I went to the seating upstairs, and outside as I find he A/C really chilling, so I chose the fresher option.

It’s about a 20 minute journey. We arrived back on the mainland to be rejoined with, ‘Bruce the bus and trailer’. We were back on the road by 10:15. We passed the sports stadium which is home to the North Queensland Cowboys rugby league team. We expect to be driving around 350k today.

We had a stop at a Servo,(petrol station) it seemed like a good time to get an ice cream! Anything to help me cool down! It is warm today, but we also have a few darker clouds in the sky today. Let’s hope any rain holds off!

We passed through a small town called Ayr. It is a rural town and locality in Burdekin, QLD. It is the centre of a sugarcane-growing region. There’s lots of single story, art-deco style buildings in streets that all seem to be set in squares! It looks clean, and quaint! I made a point of the seeing the town because it’s been just sugar cane, all the way!

I just thought to myself…. The houses look very flimsy. I haven’t see a solid, brick house yet. It may be a rural thing, I’m not sure, but when I compare to UK houses, it’s very noticeable. Also, the railway lines have no crossing barriers, just a red sign with an’, X’ on it!

It’s now 1:15, we just had a lunch stop at a Servo in a small rural town called Guthalunga, which apparently only has 112 inhabitants! It was limited choice of food, but it is all freshly made today. We all got sorted! We mostly chose sandwiches and fruit, with a top up of water.

As we set off, we were informed that parts of tomorrow’s trip to Whitehaven beach has been cancelled due to rain, and high winds. It’s still on, but they are expecting it to be a very rough crossing! We have an alternative option of a day waterfall visit, but I’m a bit dubious after my blackout experience in Bali, the high to low grounds plays havoc with my ears! I may be spending the day at Airlie beach!

We are currently heading for a town called Bowen. It is a coastal town in the Whitsundays. Bowen is where the bush meets the reef. It was s very well known for producing mangos, and particularly the, ‘Big Mango’, which stands tall outside is a well known tourist sight!

We sat in the shade for a while, whilst a few of the group of went in to get some mango sorbet. But sitting there in the shade did involve meeting quite a few green ants… and they really bite! But…. I have been informed that the green ants make the best gin!!!

We arrived at Airlie Beach at 3pm. The hotel is called Colonial Palms Motor Inn. The room is eally quite nice too. They have 2 pools, so lots to offer.

The first job I did was to wash all of my clothes from the last 3 days. We have 2 nights here, so it has time to dry.

Then I got a group text to be ready to meet in 5 mins. I moved fast! I got in the shower, and dressed to go in about 20 minutes! Only then to find it’s only Timu, Charles and Mateus going! I probably would have preferred to stay at the hotel a while longer, and chill, but I’m all ready now, so I’ll just go!

It was so hot on the walk down to the front, and quite a hill to climb too, but we made it. The whole area looks so nice. It also looks more expensive all around!

We got to our first bar, Magnum. We stopped the as it has a live musician on. We got drinks in, then decide to play pools. I partnered Charles. To be honest, Charles and I played better, but potted the black ball, so we did actually lose!

We were met by the rest of the group to go for dinner. We went to Paradiso for our meal. I’ve chosen pesto pasta with bruschetta. I’m hungry now, so I’m so ready for this food.

The whole group, individually enjoyed their food. It was a good meal all round. We carried on the night at Thea Narrows. It is a live music pub, and the magician was so good. Everyone was thoroughly enjoying the night, especially when he played, and dang - American Pie. We all joined in! After another half an hour, both Angelika and I were ready for going back to the hotel, we were very soon followed by Pedro and Ty, Charles, Timu and Mateus (the boys) and Sarah carried on to the next pub.

It was quite a walk back! But at least the sun wasn’t beating down! So I had a quick shower, before bed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb