That is some cold water...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory
June 14th 2010
Published: June 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 67
Ormiston Gorge is our next stop. Located about 3 hour drive away. And well worth it. We are able to arrive around 1pm and get setup on a not so tent friendly site, but the rangers came and talked to us for a bit and said they would lay down some sand for next time, awesome… but that doesn’t concern us. Lol. But I guess I should back track to Gosse Bluff, where a 1km wide comet struck the earth leaving a 5km wide pit, amazing to be inside and then to drive about 30km away and get photos, just a steep rise of mountains in an almost perfect circle. Pictures do not show it well, you had to be there. I walked a bit to find the impact site which luckily was only a 10 minute walk form the road. It was a nice stop on the way. I guess following the walking round we can move back to the gorge and the sign that states that you may have to swim or wade your way across the waterhole… hmmm. I wonder how cold it is. This adventure only includes me as Jackie and Sean are not
newpumpnewpumpnewpump

we bought a electric pump
to fond of my “adventure treks” since I don’t really stick to the trails. And in truth I started out sticking to the trail, did some rock climbing then a waist deep crossing of the coldest water ever. Where I met some older ladies who said they would avert their eyes as I undressed to stay dry, unless it was okay to look as they stated. LOL. To funny. I kept following the river bed till the trail disappeared then I figured instead of wasting time trying to find the trail again I would make my own. And up I go straight up about 250 feet to where the ridge is to steep to climb and meander my way around looking for a gap to climb in the rocks to make it to the top. Nothing… damn I keep going along the steep rocks and eventually get to the pass and push up and over only to be met with a 50 foot cliff, after some careful picking I found a somewhat decent trail down with the biggest drop only being about 10 feet. Not bad. I guess I should mention that I did spot the trail on the other side heading back to camp, and it was easy to get to. Then upon talking to a few people they said if I went the other way there is a nice pass with steps and a trail the whole way. Oh well, my adventure was amazing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

fishfish
fish

Fishies!!
gossegosse
gosse

Gosse Bluff
gossebluffgossebluff
gossebluff

5km wide crater
campcamp
camp

Our camp
walkwalk
walk

I had to swim a bit...
walk9walk9
walk9

let the wading begin
walk6walk6
walk6

my side track
walk3walk3
walk3

The drop
walk2walk2
walk2

The trail is back in view


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb