The Ghan


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » City of Darwin
November 18th 2009
Published: November 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So one thing I've learned through my travels is that getting from point A to point B can be really expensive and a bit of a pain. So when my buddy told me that he wanted to take a train from Darwin to Alice Springs I was kind of skeptical because I'd never ridden a train before. And after finding out that the train ride was 26 hours long, well I damn near had a heart attack. However once I got over the initial shock of it I realized that it was at least 100 bucks cheaper than flying and really was the only other option for getting to Alice, so we rode the train from Darwin to Alice.

I'm not gonna lie the train ride was long and I didn't sleep very well on the train but it definitely had some perks that you don't get on a plane. First off security is pretty relaxed, we were able to bring our own food on board and drinks and whatever we wanted to read and do during the trip. The chairs were much larger than in an airplane and they had a dinning car that you could go hang out in and play cards or enjoy some of there food or drinks, which I might add are better quality than what you'd get on a plane and much cheaper as well. The train also offered us some unique views of the desert that we would've missed from the plane. All in all the train ride was cheap, long and totally worth it. It was so worth it that Steve and I will be finishing the rest of the train ride to Adelaide in a couple of days (but this time I have some cough medicine that makes you drowsy so we'll see if that helps a bit). So in total that's about 3,000 km's traveled by train through the Northern Territory and South Australia.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb