Mooching around Darwin...


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Currently at Cavenagh's hostel. It's better than the YHA in many ways (better pool, better people) but the staff aren't as friendly. We're in a 12 bed dorm, but it isn't as bad as I'd thought. Ear plugs are a great invention!

Emily and Heather have been job hunting most days, and they have had an interview which they got (yay) so it's just waiting to start the job now for them. (2 weeks away I think). I've been spending a lot of time with Katie which is cool cos she's very chilled out and just lets me carry on being hectic haha. Rachel is here now too, so the numbers are gradually increasing! It's great to have so many nice people around.

I've been pretty good with my money the last week (mainly because I have none!) and been swimming in the pool, laying in the sun, reading magazines, generally spending the last few weeks of my trip just having a holiday, which is nice.

We've been to Mindil Market a couple of times. We tend to leave the hostel at 5.30 and walk up to watch the sunset on the beach just before 6.30pm. It's absolutely beautiful! Lots of reds, pinks and oranges in the sky. After that, we wander around the night market. It's great - all lit up with fairy lights and stuff, and tons of food stalls with multi cultural dishes....I've actually gotten into Chinese food now which is cool!!! They also sell Fisherman pants, jewellery, aboriginal art etc which is so cool!

We've booked a sunset cruise for Heather's birthday on the 13th so fingers crossed that's fun! Hope so!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.1kb