Heading back to the "moederland"


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
November 18th 2012
Published: November 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trek to South Africa

Left Alice Springs Thursday 29/11/2012 for Perth. Leaving Perth 02/12/2012 for Johannesburg. Return to Perth 19/11/2012 and Alice Springs 20/11/2012.

Its been 30 years since I immigrated with my parents and three sisters from South Africa to Australia. We have all grown up, married with children and have a great opportunity to return together.

Planning this trip has been an enormous task, ably undertaken by my brother-in-law. He has somehow been able to sqeeze in every state in South Africa, all our birthtowns, our holiday spots and catching up with relatives, plus more.

Concerning though is the planning around what physical preparation is required to visit South Africa. Are there immunisations, prophylactics and other precuations required? I lived there for 16 years and apart from the usual immunisations I was not sure I really needed anything. In comes the Travel Doctor!

Always err on the side of caution when travelling anywhere. As a nurse I advise people what health risks they have and could have and what strategies they can employ. "Well head your own advice": I was sorely told off.

Hepatitis A, Antimalarials, & Tetanus! TB status and Hepatitis B up to date, I promise not to swim in fresh water (to avoid Schistosomiasis) and I promise to practice strict food, water and personal hygiene practices.

Passport, load and go travel Visa on the ready, hand luggage packed, ipad travel sim, iphone travel sim, medications and letter, travel insurance ... have a missed anything

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb