Alice Bound


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 64
Its 7:30 and I am up and restarting the fire as per arrangement from the previous night, first up restarts it. Lol. Todays plan get to Alice without a “matt sidetrack” I look at the rock walls surrounding us and crater, up I go, right to the top. Jackie snaps a few photos of me and my crazy climb. It was a good workout. From up top I can see everything in the gap and the valley to the other side. Its stunning, I also notice smoke about 300 meters form our camp, ha, another group of campers 5 of them in land cruisers. Cool beans, wonder if they enjoyed the opera. Lol. We are packed by 9am and start into ruby gap, to find the road moves onto the riverbed and gets wet, not gonna happen we turn around and head out. We reach paved roads 2.5 hours later, and I spend 30 minutes with that foot pump putting the tires back to 40psi. what fun. We roll into alice at 1pm go straight to information, find out a list of camp ground. Most are full due to the finke race. We find a camp out of town for 9 dollars a head. We are spending the night there. We restock on food and I begin the impossible job of repacking the truck with about 8 days worth of food. I do succeed and am proud. We make 2 more stops at the aboriginal land councils to obtain permits to cross the great central road, which is on native land. With permits in hand we leave town and spend a cold night with temperatures dropping to -2c out. We finish the rest of those god awful burgers…


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

robheidirobheidi
robheidi

Robert and heidi
climb2climb2
climb2

I climbed this monster.. LOL.
roomspareroomspare
roomspare

We have room to spare
splashdownsplashdown
splashdown

Splashdown
pumppump
pump

foot pump x 4 tires = gay


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb