Should I stay or should I go?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
October 12th 2006
Published: October 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I'm still staying with family in Sydney. Where we are is about an hour outside of the city and a little longer to the beaches, but have still managed to get out and about and see plenty of what Sydney has to offer.

Weather has generally been good since I've been here so have managed to spend plenty of time at the beaches, and have visited Bondi and Manly which are the two most famous (and therefore busiest) beaches here. Have also managed to spend time visiting local hotspots closer to where I'm staying, including a place which is the cooly-named "Jellybean Pool"!

Also visited Katoomba, home of the 3 sisters, a rock formation which is a sacred spot for Aborigines and is a major tourist attraction.

Last weekend I travelled about 6 hours north to Kempsey to work at a show there for the same guys I worked with before. Sold massagers - a definite step up from wet n sticky lint removers, which I was selling in Adelaide! While there I got to see more family who lived there, which was nice. Also managed to spend some time at Coff's Harbour, which is famous for its "Big Banana" which actually isn't all that big, or impressive, but hey it was something to do!

Will be heading back to Adelaide next week to work some more before heading to Melbourne the following week. I'm due home on October 30th, although I have had an offer to stay working for my company up until christmas. Seriously considering it, will keep you updated! Though if I do stay I will be extremely homesick during the month of November, what with all the rugby internationals coming up! Talk about a dilemma!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Aborigine at KatoombaAborigine at Katoomba
Aborigine at Katoomba

Sadly you don't see many Aborigines in every day life in Australia, and when you do, they're often intoxicated. Therefore, this was pretty cool to see.
More boozingMore boozing
More boozing

Hooked up with Damo, a guy I met in Dougie's. Had a good night, ended up crawling back in at 6.30am. My latest night ever!
Family photoFamily photo
Family photo

Alana, Taneesha, Moi and Shannyn
Me and DaniMe and Dani
Me and Dani

Meet my chauffeur around Sydney!
The Big BananaThe Big Banana
The Big Banana

Crystal, Me and Dani. And a big banana. Apparently.
Family photo 2Family photo 2
Family photo 2

Me and Amanda


12th October 2006

HI Gareth, Looks amazing all the places you're visiting.....good news on the job offer, I'd definatley take them up on it!! Enjoy the nice weather and however long you've got left over there!!! Say hi to all the family for me!
12th October 2006

Nice to see you still enjoying yourself an to see alana and gang, my opinion for what its worth, if you can get enough muni to stay then do so who knows when you will be able to visit again. everybody ok over here, your mum and nan are going to see uncle david soon so your dad will have the house to himself. Give Alana a kiss for me and i look forward to your next blog. love aunty suexxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb