Days 115 - 117: Sydney, Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 22nd 2010
Published: March 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 115 - 117: Monday, March 22nd thru Wednesday, March 24th, 2010.
Sydney, Australia.

On Monday, Becky and myself took a ferry to Manly (suburb of Sydney). Shaz had suggested the cheap ferry trip as opposed to the expensive harbor cruises. It was a nice view and a short ride to Manly. Becky crashed by the beach in the shade with a book and I went hunting for a nail shop- I needed a pedicure like crazy. Found a place, but they were busy so decided to get the hair taken care of instead. So, for one day on this trip my hair was tamed. Yea!! We headed back to Sydney in the early afternoon and Becky hopped on the train to the airport and I hopped on a bus back to the hotel. I chilled for a couple of hours and then another Aussie friend, Alex, picked me up and we went to Thai Riffic in Newtown for dinner. I had a great sizzling garlic beef dinner and Alex ordered some duck dinner that had all the chilijs in the world on it. She was chugging water like no tomorrow, poor thing. It was great catching up with her again but she had just worked a 12 hour day and had another one Tuesday so we called it an early night.

Not much to report for Tuesday. I went on an Apple Store hunt and in doing so walked thru the Queen Victoria Building. Beautiful!!!! Then I spent a few hours at Global Gossip trying to get this blog (which is feeling like homework right now) updated.

And finally, today- Wednesday. YES! This blog is updated! Geez- hope I don't let it go so far behind in the future. Very sorry for all the many blog alert emails you guys got w/in the past 24 hours. Today I did a tour of the Sydney Opera House- very cool building (it's 2 buildings actually- I didn't know that before today!). Baz Luhrmann is currently directing the stage production of "A Midsummer Night's Dream" and we were able to see the stage crew working on the set. Wish I could have gotten tickets, oh well.

I'm off to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, tomorrow. It's an 8 hour flight, then I have a 12 hour layover, then a 1 hour flight to Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Don't ask me what I was thinking when I booked that shitty schedule- I do not know. So, so long from Australia. I'll see you in Vietnam!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Sydney Opera HouseSydney Opera House
Sydney Opera House

as seen from Manly Ferry
Inside Sydney Opera HouseInside Sydney Opera House
Inside Sydney Opera House

Pavarotti refused to walk on this purple carpet because purple is back luck in his world.
Inside Sydney Opera HouseInside Sydney Opera House
Inside Sydney Opera House

Basically it's a concrete shell with wooden rooms inside.
Sydney Opera HouseSydney Opera House
Sydney Opera House

It's actually 2 buildings- I never knew!


12th April 2010

You dyed your cloths purple to keep the pavarotti away?
Did you do any karaoke at the opera house?

Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1892s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb