Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 29th 2009
Published: January 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

(Apologies to all Australians for the following blog....)

Thankfully I managed to change my flight at Hong Kong and avoided a torturous 17 hour stop-over. I arrived in Sydney with only an hour of sleep under my belt and no place to stay as I was a night early. After a few calls I found a bed and caught the train to Central and flopped into bed 30 minutes later.

I changed hostel at lunchtime after a great nights’ sleep. ‘Wake Up!’ is a swanky hostel in near the city centre. It’s modern, all key cards, coloured sofas and café bars. It also kindly gave me a welcome pack which has discount vouchers, maps and also some useful Australian words and phrases. I’m gonna fit right in! Ripper!

I took the cheesy city bus tour for my first bit of sightseeing. It was an ace way to get my bearings. The bus meandered past Darling Harbour and through the city streets. It’s a bonza mix of new and old. Skyscrapers and old colonial buildings sitting happily side by side. We rounded a corner and strewth there it was Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera house. Beaut! When the bus arrived at the Opera House I bailed out. I was almost pinching myself that I was there at one of the world’s most famous landmarks and view point. There were heaps of dudes just milling about taking pictures.

I came back rooted, not that I’d done much but I think I need to catch up on some more sleep. Just a quiet night tonight, some tucker and maybe some grog or a tinny. I might go to Manly tomorrow to see the bush and maybe some budgie smugglers on the beach. (I can’t fit in Galah! No worries)






Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

SydneySydney
Sydney

the Bridge again....
SydneySydney
Sydney

More of the bridge....
SydneySydney
Sydney

...a matching pic for mum and dad to have.


29th January 2009

Love the Aussie Slang
Welcome to Australia - I just stumbled across your blog but love the photo's and the Aussie slang that you're learning. I'm sure you'll fit right in. If you're looking for some other destinations, I have a few reviews and interesting travel finds on my blog: www.experienceseeker.com.au, but only if you're interested of course. Cheers, ripper and bonza mate :)

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb