Second thoughts in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 8th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has been a weird past couple of days. The last time I posted I said I was going to love it here, but I'm having serious second thoughts. It seems like the only way you can have a good time in Sydney is by spending lots of money drinking, eating, shopping etc...which for travelers is obviously a problem. It's a great place to meet people and don't get me wrong, I have met some really cool people, but it's starting to get on my nerves that this doesn't really feel like I'm traveling. I haven't really seen anything so far here that I couldn't find in London. Plus, everyone I meet is from the UK. It's nuts! I miss being in Asia and being out of my comfort zone. Plus...it's so bloody expensive here by comparison.

I've been speaking to a lot of travelers and ex pats here who have just come from Asia and it seems the general consensus that they feel quite let down by Australia. They also told me I'll find much more of the same in NZ. Although everything there is cheaper, you just end up spending shite loads on different activities, which may be okay for a holiday, but traveling on a budget would be a problem.

I've been hanging out with my dorm roomies (more people from London) and the best piece of advice they gave me was 'Follow your heart, not a map'. If I do that, I really think I want to go back to Asia and this time I can see Japan, Hong Kong, Indonesia and probably go back to Thailand again. i only have 2 and a half months left and I don't think I would be happy spending that time in Oz and NZ worrying about money. I'd rather come back some other time when I'm not on such a tight budget. I have to take some time out and have a serious think how I'm going to spend the rest of my time. This is a once in a lifetime thing for me, so I want to do it right!

So anyway...enough with the emotional, 'let's pour my heart out online' crap!
I spent the whole of yesterday walking around Sydney taking photos. Nothing much else to report on that end. Last night I met up with Anna (a girl I used to work with in London) and caught up with her over a few drinks. It was so good to see a familiar face. Once we had a few bevvies a couple of random guys who live in Manly came over to talk to us (Tom and Emil) and we ended up going out for dinner with them. They were funny guys and very sweet...wouldn't let us pay for anything. Being a traveler...I didn't argue too much since they place they took us was too friggin expensive. All in all it was a really good night, just seeing Anna was brilliant.

This weekend I have plans to meet up with Jenna (a girl I met travelling through Vietnam). She's going to taking me around Sydney to show me what I've been missing. I'm really looking forward to it, but I just know it's going to cost me a bomb.

xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb