Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 5th 2009
Published: January 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After an extremely tearful 'farewell for now' to my family in The Philippines it took some time to force myself back into the traveler's state of mind. I arrived into Sydney International airport yesterday morning feeling ridiculously drained after a turbulent flight, but after checking in to my hostel near Central station I was ready and raring to go. Fast forward again after a 5 hour walk around the city in 37 degree heat I was soon brought back down to Earth. On my 'mini-trek' I have already explored Darling Harbour, the wildlife park, Australian history museum, Sydney Harbour and the Sydney Opera House. I really should really take my time or I'll have nothing else to see. It's a lot like London. I can understand why so many people move here.

When I got back to the hostel yesterday late afternoon I intended on resting a few hours before setting out again, but I met one of the girls in my dorm (Amy from Leeds) and within 20 minutes of introductions we were sitting in Paddy Maguire's on George Street drinking the day away. We met a few other random people and ended up hanging out with a Canadian couple (Simone and Jamie) and moving on to Three Monkeys on George Street where there was a live band. By this time I had stupidly been mixing my drinks; beer, wine, 2 or 3 other spirits; and was a little worse for wear, but I soldiered on nevertheless. Amy introduced me to a friend of hers she met in another hostel (Derrick from Ireland) and he had a whole load of friends with him from Waterford, so it was a good laugh. At 2am the bar closed so we went on the hunt for another venue and ended up in Charlie Chan's for a couple more before bed time rolled around. For my first day in Sydney I would say it was pretty damn successful! I had such a brilliant time and can tell I'm going to love it here.

Amy and I woke up late this morning and were both hanging so badly we couldn't bear to go out. We ended up hooking my dvd player up to the TV in the common room watching movies. The only time we decided to move was to get some food across the road from where we are staying and then headed straight back to our room. It's a lazy day! But much needed.

x


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Amy, Jamie & SimoneAmy, Jamie & Simone
Amy, Jamie & Simone

After a few at Paddy Maguire's


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb