Happy New Year


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 5th 2006
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

We are currently living in Avalon, about 1/2 hour out of Sydney at Lizzys, Joanne's youngest sister.

We came in to Sydney on the 22nd. We hung out at the bus station all day, and met up with our friend Haley in the afternoon. We stayed with Haley and her friends at their place sleeping on the couch until Christmas Eve Day. Great time. The people were/are great, there are 2 other Neil’s, actually one is a Neale...He doesn't know how to spell, but he looks like Brad Pitt.

Christmas Eve we moved into Joanne’s parents’ place, in which we were blessed to spend the 3 day event as part of the Kelly family with 2 out of 3 of the sister and their families. Christmas Eve we spent at Jo's parents, in which we ate drank and were merry. That was the toughest time for me, as I missed home. Christmas day we slept n till 10, and when we awoke, had a chocolate breakfast, helped Jo wrap her presents, and off to Vicky’s. Its was great to be part of. Every present was opened one at a time, with announcements about who it is too, and from with hugs and kisses afterwards. I had Heather crying with the card I got her, and Vicky’s daughter Eliza got us a Sydney calendar. We had a break half way through in which we went swimming....loll...the dinner was great, we had turkey, ham, potatoes, full cooked garlic, I have pictures just incase my family toyed w/ the idea of emailing me their meal. The desert, oh the desert. Vicky made a Christmas pudding, 18 months of settling, a full bottle of Brandy, and a full presentation of being lit when served. Boxing Day was spent at Lizzys, in which more food and more swimming. We stayed at Jo's parents until the 27, in which we moved to Lizzys to make way for the final sister Louise. The next couple of days were spent visiting between all the houses.

New Years Eve we took the bus downtown to watch the fireworks. We sat with Haley and Wil, Vanessa, Neale, and Thomas next to the Sydney Bridge, getting there about 4. There were 9pm fireworks for the kids, and at 11:30pm and about 10 beers later, it became standing room only. The fireworks were amazing, absolutely breathtaking. Our New Years Resolutions are: Heather has to stop eating crisps and french fries (won on a technicality...Chips are crisps and french fries here), and I have to start running with Heather every second day. Second run and I am still alive, and as far as I know Heather has had and chips.

New Years day we spent at Vicky’s, once again part of the family, but now the whole family. It was 44C sooo hot, but we cooled off by swimming...more great food, and desert. With having too many people for cars, Jo's parents let us have their car to drive home. Fun, but a little nervous. The next day we drove out to Palm Beach to explore all the Movie Star houses, currently John Cleese is staying. Amazing views, water on both sides, hilly, expensive cars, the whole 9 yards.

Staying at Ray & Lizzys has been great. We have a great apartment below them. We have been trying to get up early to stay with Ned & Lilly to help out, and let Ray and Lizzy sleep in as Lizzy is pregnant and they are both on holidays. So far it has worked and we only missed one day. Ray and Lizzy are vegetarians too, which scared us at first, but they have made some awesome meals for us, Mushroom Risotto, Tempah Curry, split pea soup, ("can we have two bowls of Split Plee soup")and a pastry with egg, and spinach. I don't like trying new things, but wow....

Tomorrow we both go to complete our RSA for serving alcohol, hopefully panning into jobs, and it looks like we have an apartment downtown, but we are not holding our breaths...

Miss everyone, you will be happy to know it know it has dropped to 19C and is raining as I write this.
Love,
Neil and Heather

Advertisement



5th January 2006

Yes!!!!!!!!!
Great to hear from you and that the Kelly clan has been so helpful. Good luck in the apartment and job hunting. We will see you after the 10th of March when we arrive. We spet New Year's at the Sheep listening and sometimes dancing to a superb 70's disco DJ and to the Hammerheads, a Prince meets Shaft, disco funk band.Sometimes the DJ would play and the band would take over and you never knew which was playing they were that good. And most people were your age, not us old folkies, and in full disco era costume Afro wigs and all! They were having a blast playing at the 70s, I was tripping down memory lane as I am sure I saw some of MY OWN 70s clothes on the young men!!! So still at home recovering from the operation and will be for a month. And winter has arrived so no whinging about 19 and rain. We have no sympathy!
5th January 2006

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
It all sounds so wonderful. I'm so happy you two are doing this (and only a tiny bit jealous that I'm not). Everything is fine here but I do miss the both of you a lot. Thanks for the phone call Heather - I would have got it but it was early and I didn't understand the number till later when I woke up, then I was kicking myself for not answering. Were you partying when you called? It sounded like you were. Also thanks for the post card. I got it yesterday. Next time you write, talk more about Neale - the bad speller who looks like Brad Pitt. I think I can speak for all the girls when I say we would like to hear lots and lots about him. Give him my phone number if you want...ha ha just kidding (or am I??) Love Siobhan.
1st February 2006

Ola!
I haven't written in ages!! sorry I am so glad everything is going great for the two of you. It is really nice to read your stories. Andrew and I and another couple just got back from a 1 week all inclusive vacation in Cayo Coco Cuba. It was absolutely amazing!! We were drunk 2 and 3 times a day!!! The weather,beach, food and of course drinks were unbelievable. I am not sure if anyone else has told you but the Corel Centre has now been officially changed to The Scotiabank Place!! What a geeky name! but the radio has been going nuts over the nicknames..the vault, the bank, the CASH line ( starting line-up ) I am just waiting to hear about the discounts we might get!! Anyways, as always have a blast! Jen Bancroft
17th February 2006

At Last
Hope you do receive my greetings -you know how technically challanged I am. I have so enjoyed reading all your news-glad you are having such a blast-really miss you here,work is not as much fun!!!.The Fergus is now The Georgetown Inn -we have to have lunch if you EVER hit Ottawa Again.Love to you both .

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb