I don't want to leave....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 2nd 2006
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Finally an update....

Came back from Cairns on Monday morning to overcast and dreary weather, which wasn't too exciting. But luckily I missed the second hottest day on record, a scorching 46 degrees on the 1st in Sydney. Thank goodness! The humidity in Cairns was enough to deal with. Caught up with Alf and Paul and then went into the city for a few hours to wander around. Over the next two days I did loads of walking, finally did the Opera House tour, finally went running on the beach (lets hope there is more of that to report...I was sore for a few days!), did a coastal walk between Bondi and Coogee beaches, saw my good friend Pablo, and spent a lot of time with my wonderful hosts.

On Thursday, Alf took me to the Blue Mountains, about 1.5 hours northwest of Sydney. We stayed with his friend Greg and didn't see much on that first day because the weather was crap. The next day it was more of the same but I couldn't go there and not see anything so we went on a hike (or went bushwalking, as they say and I like to make fun of) and I couldn't believe our luck....it was extremely foggy when we started but it cleared soon after and was perfect for the three hours that we were on the trail. When we got to the top, the clouds moved back in. There were some beautiful views and the only negatives were falling on my ass down a waterfall and ending with soaked jeans and climbing up the side of a cliff to my dismay of the massive dropoff right to the left. We saw the Three Sisters, which I have to admit I wasn't all that impressed with...but maybe it was the dreary weather?

When we got back, it was my last night in Australia and I went out to dinner with Alf and sadly Paul couldn't make it. We stayed close to home because the weather was bad and the train ride in would have been quite the production. It was a lot of fun and I ended up exhausted the next day, Saturday, but was able to go to breakfast with Paul before Pablo picked me up to go to the airport. I know, these guys were awesome....was I spoiled or what?

I am a bit embarrassed to admit I cried all the way to the airport, as well as in the airport! And it didn't help that for the first time in days the weather was sunny and beautiful right as I was leaving. But thanks Pablo for putting up with my emotional breakdown....honestly though, Alf, Paul, Pablo, Rob, and others were sooooooooooooooo good to me during my time in Australia and I was so sad to say goodbye to them. It was the hardest time I've ever had leaving any country. I hope I can see them again soon and repay the favor 10 fold. I miss them all and Australia so much. As people have said since though, everything good must come to an end. I guess, unfortunately, they're right. 😞 😞 😞 But hey, I possibly have connections for a job there over the summer...

And then it was on to Singapore, while trying to be more positive about leaving Oz...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



11th January 2006

pictures
loved the waterfall picture!
12th January 2006

lol lots of posing with guys! nice!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb