Rugby at its finest


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 20th 2003
Published: September 20th 2003
Edit Blog Post


Aussie Stadium, Randwick - Sydney
NZ Warriors - versus - Canberra Raiders 17-16

The crowd roared. Black and white flags covered Aussie Stadium like a blanket.

"Warr-i-ors! Warr-i-ors!" the Kiwis chanted in unison. The Warriors had just won the semi-final Rugby League game that with a little luck, will bring them into the Final Four Championship.

And so it goes... the treasured Australian game of rugby.

I've never known much about the game, but after witnessing my first Pro-rugby game, I can say that it is both an entertaining and admirable sport.

As many Americans equate rugby to American football, I disagree. Although it could be argued that the two are very similar, I'd say rugby deserves to be in a class of its own. As my Irish and Welsh friends provided the necessary commentary, I caught on quickly to the game. Since it was a "Rugby League" game, the next game I attend will offer a whole new set of rules - to be learned again.

There are 3 Rugby leagues in Australia:
Rugby League
Rugby Union
Aussie Rules

Each league's rules differ from the other. Rugby Union is what is played internationally and what will be played in 3 weeks at the World Cup. Most secondary schools play Rugby Union. Aussie Rules is not like either of the other two leagues. The "Australian football" features rules of its own, and from what I understand is quite unique.

The game turned out to be one of the most exciting sporting events I've ever witnessed. As the man on the bus home sitting next to me said, "That was the best game I've seen in 34 years." Now I understand the fans passion and how easy it can be to get sucked into the madness of the game.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb