Saying goodbye is the hardest thing...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 29th 2008
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I flew from Darwin last night, arriving in Sydney this morning.

It's all....wrong. My life is here now - how can it suddenly stop and I have to go home?

The past few days in Darwin have been getting cooler - still hot, just not quite as bright and scorching.

Heather has been working a lot, so I've been playing a lot of pool in the bar with Katie, and just sitting chatting to randoms. That's what I like about The Cav - people just sit around by the pool and you end up making new friends. It's been a great 4 weeks in Darwin.

So yesterday was the final day. I feel like I've been counting down for the last week, but it still didn't seem that real. Heather and Katie both said it didn't really feel like I was going. Spent the last few days buying souvenirs, shouting at reception for throwing our brand new bag of food out of the fridge (grrrrr), sitting by the pool and packing.

My last night, Erica (our Adelaide-Alice tour guide) arrived in Darwin!!! So that was great to catch up with her again. Heather, Rach, Katie and I went for a meal at the Cav's bar (we had been promising ourselves one ever since we arrived!). I had the grilled barramundi with mashed potato and steamed veggies in a lemon butter sauce. So did Heather, and Katie and Rach had a chicken pizza with fries. Erica and her trainee, Tom, joined us afterwards and then Emily and the guy she's been seeing (Kyle) popped back to say goodbye (awww!). Jules also sat with us for a while, was nice to have a few people to say goodbye to!

Anyway...so it was really a matter of waiting and counting down. I alternated between feeling fine, and feeling absolutely gutted and near tears. I was doing ok until I had a final cigarette outside with Heather, and then I nearly lost it...can't believe I won't be seeing one of my best friends ever for the forseeable future! :o(

Sydney is just weird....dark and cold and raining...feels like England. Can't believe that I'll be home in 72 hours. Will save an overall reflection for then.

Meeting Ffion tomorrow night. Will be so nice to see a familiar face. I always said I didn't like Sydney, and I didn't enjoy xmas very much, BUT, coming back here is kind of....familiar. And I was sitting on the bus today going back from Coogee, and it was dark and drizzly outside...and it felt so warm and cosy on that bus, kind of like the UK.....I'd forgotten that winter feeling, and although I HATE the winter, once in a while it's nice to feel all snug and cosy....

I'm trying very hard to convince myself, I think, that I'm not missing Darwin! It's not working! I miss it....

I miss everyone soooooooooooo much!!!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb