The Sydney Swans against Melbourne Kangaroos: Have you heard of “Aussie Rules”?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 21st 2005
Published: August 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Is that football? It's handball...Is that football? It's handball...Is that football? It's handball...

Playing Aussie Rules Sydney in red, Melbourne in blue
After having watched a rugby match last week in New Zealand, I decided to go also to a local football match. The local football is nick-named “Aussie Rules” and I believed it is played only here. It’s a strange game that’s somewhere between rugby and normal football (what they call soccer). I must say, I don’t understand how come this and the American football call themselves FOOT-ball when they are mostly playing by hand. At least in the Aussie one, the target is not to “touchdown” but to actually score goals by kicking the ball into the goal which is 4 high poles like rugby, no goal keeper. BTW, there’s also no net and the ball does go to the terraces. At one point, I got the ball! It actually bumped my leg, luckily not the one where the camera was placed.
The Sydney Swans kicked the ass of Melbourne Kangaroos, with a final result of about 101-44, if I remember correctly. Unlike the match in Dunedin last week, here the stadium was almost full with fans in the local colours (red-white), and the atmosphere was fantastic, full of energy, lots of fun. Liz and me enjoyed watching the muscly players, but also tried to follow the game. My final judgement is: I like rugby much better. Well, I like our football (the real one) a lot, but if you go for the more aggressive games, go to the real thing, rugby, where you see scrums all the time (a pile of player one of top of the other and all on the ball…), where you see real action!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Two "wanna-be" funsTwo "wanna-be" funs
Two "wanna-be" funs

In fact I liked the Kangaroos more, but I got the Swans cup and the sun was high and shining, I had to put it on!


22nd August 2005

התמונה שלך
איזו תמונה יפה יש לך. הטיול הזה גורם לך לפרוח. לא זוכרת שבארץ ראיתי אותך כל כך מחוייכת וקורנת. מבפנים

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb