Pretty in Pink


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 12th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Rising out of bed promptly at 7 o’clock, in accordance with his usual morning ritual, Gene purposefully set out to get a move on things. As I let out a roaring yawn and stretched my toes, he was already loading his arms with the heap of dirty laundry sprawled out across the floor, asking whether I had anything else to add to the pile. Still starry-eyed from a good night’s rest, I slowly crept out of bed and slithered across the floor toward my suitcase. Knowing that each load of laundry at the hotel cost $20 for a single wash and dry, I vigilantly selected only those items in desperate need of washing.

Already dressed and rearing to go, Gene volunteered to take care of the laundry without my assistance, while I got started on packing for our flight to Brisbane later that afternoon.

Nearly an hour and a half later, I accompanied Gene back to the laundry room to help fold the clothes. As he pulled the first article out of the dryer, a compact orange travel towel, our eyes averted the tiny pink speck on the cloth as he handed it to me to fold.

Next, Gene pulled one of his t-shirts out of the dryer. “What the f*ck?!?” he squealed.

The shirt appeared to be decorated with glittery pink splotches in various places. I stood there perplexed and speechless, while Gene frantically pulled one item after the other out of the dryer.

“What the hell is this shit!?! It is on every f*ckin’ piece of my clothing!! Everything is f*ckin’ ruined!” Gene ranted. The entire load of laundry appeared to have been put through the wash cycle with a pink spotted leopard.

Then, it hit me like a freight train. “Did you wash my other pair of jeans?” I asked.

“Yeah, they were in the pile of clothes on the floor.” Glaring at me through fiery eyes, Gene interrogated, “Why?!”

“Did you by chance check the pockets before throwing in the laundry?” I defensively retorted.

“Don’t even f*cking tell me!” Gene leaned his upper body into the dryer and recovered the weapon of mass destruction - an empty Mac lipstick container.

I always double-check all pockets before throwing in the wash. Don’t say it, Gina. Don’t say it. It’s not worth the war that will ensue.

In a moment of passion, Gene starting picking up each article of clothing for inspection before throwing it back down on the table in a belligerent huff.

“Your clothes aren’t the only ones that were ruined, you know!” I argued, growing bitter as a result of the guilt trip Gene was vehemently trying to send me on. “We can buy stain remover and I will soak and scrub every piece of clothing and see what we can salvage.”

Once back in our room, Gene, the Google guru, consulted the internet for stain-removal recommendations. “Don’t put stained clothing into the dryer unless the stain is completely removed. Heat will cause the stain to become a permanent part of your clothing.”

Whoops.



Advertisement



20th March 2007

Pretty in Pink
What's a little color in your clothes? Ask him about his laundry Faux Pax when he went to Germany in high shool. ***Grin*** You can always wear each others clothes for a few days just for shits and giggles.
22nd March 2007

laundry mistakes?
mel: what about the time he pooped his pants in germany?i guess he couldn't ruin the laundry though, as he tossed the shorts out the window...
23rd March 2007

Pooped pants
Jess: LMAO yes I just recently heard that story. Now the world knows. Hope you have a great time when you meet them in Singapore. =) *hugs*

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb