Here piggy, piggy, piggy


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 17th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Chinese New YearChinese New YearChinese New Year

Year of the Pig
Today is Chinese New Year's Eve. Tomorrow ushers in the Year of the Pig. Gong Hey Fat Choy everyone!

Dave went roofing this morning and I walked down to Maroubra Junction, grabbed another Gloria Jean's, came home, did some MORE laundry, and hung it out to dry.

We dropped Tim & Toni off at the airport. They're heading to NZ for three weeks. I can't wait to see their pics when they get back!

Went to Chinatown to partake of the celebrations. Had massive food stalls, vendors, hawkers, good luck thingys... the place was packed, but in a joyous harmonious coolius dudeus way. People from all walks of life and all different places were represented. Of course, the majority of the crowd was FOB-a-licious. Had a delicious meal consisting of spicy shrimp, hot and sour soup, and pan fried dumplings. Sorry, I haven't had time to download my pics. Came home, spoke to Mom and Ja Po (my grandmother) to wish them Happy NY.

This is a short one and just a quick note to say that tomorrow (18th) Dave and I start our massive roadtrip up the coast. Packing, and cleaning, and laundry... oh my! (ha
Chinese New YearChinese New YearChinese New Year

Good lucky thingys
ha) I'm very excited about our "walkabout" of NSW and QLD. To give you a brief itinerary, here's some of the places we'll be going in the next month:


So from here on in, my entries will be few and far inbetween. I will keep a written journal however and update everyone when I can. Sorry to be so short, but I'm on a time crunch right now.

Keep well and be happy everyone! Catch you in a bit... and keep your fingers crossed that I don't get dumped by another wave!!!

Lisa
xo

P.S. - Still no sign of Boris. I am thinking about putting an A.P.B. out for him...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Chinese New YearChinese New Year
Chinese New Year

More good luck thingys
Chinese New YearChinese New Year
Chinese New Year

Food vendors galore!
Chinese New YearChinese New Year
Chinese New Year

I think I'm turning Japanese... uhm, I mean Chinese...
Chinese New YearChinese New Year
Chinese New Year

Snackito; complete with a Lift!


19th February 2007

havin fun
Great Blog Lisa. Really enjoying the read. You are having WAY TOO MUCH of a good time!!! ...and a belated Happy B'day by the way. Found a spider in the basement yesterday with nine legs, so I am sending one of them FEDEX for Boris. Lisa, I just told the guys at the hall today that you have a travel blog, but I won't give them the address until you give me the ok..so let me know...and I am sure Dave can fill you in on my trepidation on that subject, since he worked with us for a year and knows full well what they are capable of!!! Have a great road trip and drive safe. Have a lot of good memories of Aussieland when I was there in the navy.......oh wait.....sorry, I forgot....I was in the navy, and can't remember a damn thing!! Had nothing to do with the dark rum I might add! Siimmmaaahhhh! Woke up last night shift about 2 am and had a smoke on the front bumper of the Squad. Don't know why....but I couldn't stop giggling. You guys have a good trip. All the best, Tony

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb