B.L.A.T.'s are my new best friend


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 16th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Maroubra BeachMaroubra BeachMaroubra Beach

Where I had lunch and got sunburned... but isn't the scenery great?
Officially no Boris last night. Hmmmmm... I wonder if he's abandoned us for a friendlier household?

Today is Dave's last day at work. He's officially on annual leave (one month) as of this afternoon. I did the domestic thing this morning by hanging out two loads of laundry.

Another glorious day in Sydney. Off to Maroubra Beach for lunch, a cappuccino, and some reading. What better way to spend the afternoon? After consulting the bus schedule, I headed over to the bus stop at Eastgardens and waited with the locals. No taxi for this tourist... but little did I know I was going to be eating my words.

Ho hum, ho hum... waiting for the bus. That's not it, that's not it, that's not... yes it is!!! I signal to the 353 bus driver (you have to wave them down as multiple buses service the same stop), he blithely ignores me and zooms by. A little set-back, but not to worry, the other bus (317) that goes by the beach is due to arrive shortly. Ho hum, ho hum... I've now spent 30 minutes at the bus stop. Thank God - here it is... and there it goes...
Maroubra BeachMaroubra BeachMaroubra Beach

B.L.A.T. and a Lift = heaven on earth
WTF?!?! Maybe I'm not gesticulating wildly enough??? So onto Plan B. I walk from the bus stop to Fitzgerald Street (the road that leads directly to the beach) and sit and wait patiently for yet ANOTHER bus heading this way. Fitzgerald isn't too far from Eastgardens - about a 10 minute walk. Ho hum, ho hum... good thing I don't have anything better to do because now it's been an hour since I tried to catch a bus. If I had walked, I would've been there by now. It is now approaching 1:40 pm and I'm starving. Hallelujah and praise the Lord... here comes the 353. Wave, wave, wave and... DENIED. I am now spewing. I head back to Eastgardens and get into a cab. Screw the buses. They suck. Funnily enough, I end up with the same cab driver who took me to the spa yesterday. Isn't it a small world?

FINALLY I reach the beach and head for the nearest outdoor café. I end up at Marine Café and order my new favourite meal... the B.L.A.T. sandwich. Same as B.L.T.'s but with avocado. Absolutely heavenly!!! I am going to start making these when I get home. And
Maroubra BeachMaroubra BeachMaroubra Beach

Pavement decoration
my new favourite soft drink is called Lift. It's a carbonated lemon-flavoured beverage and so delicious!

I have a leisurely lunch, read my book, had a cappuccino, read my book some more, and then the café shut so I got kicked out. Relocated to a bench overlooking the beach and people watched for about an hour. OK, maybe I ogled a few surfers too. You don't realize how much time has passed when you're doing nothing. Around 4:30 pm Dave came and collected me. I phoned him at work because I REFUSE to attempt catching a bus back home.

We are supposed to go to Bondi Beach tonight but the weather has turned slightly. Looks like we might get a shower. Because we need it you know. So we're going to go tear up Newtown instead.

Time to go so will update you next time.

By the way, I look like a freak because my front is golden brown tanned, and my back is PITCH BLACK (perhaps slightly red-ish) from sitting at the café this afternoon. OOOOOWWWWWWW - it hurts! That'll teach me to not wear sunscreen. Burn on me - literally.

Note: Australia has the highest rate of skin cancer than any other country. That should be enough to scare me into putting the SPF 30 on.

Vern - the B.L.A.T. pic is for you based on your previous comments! But if I post my pics of everthing I've consumed, people will think I'm food-obsessed - or has that already been noted???

Advertisement



16th February 2007

Food & shopping, what else does a blog need?
Hey lady! Mmmmm, your pics of food are making me hungry! Wish I could be there to partake of all of exotic offerings... alas, when you get back and we troll through the Path in search of the ultimate greasy breakfast, it just won't compare! We miss you around these parts, you were notably absence from the PP Afternoon Tea last Friday. I did my best to fill in as photographer... my pics were more Glamour Shots than Annie Leibovitz. Keep up the Boris sightings and can't wait to read about how the Aussie's celebrate Chinese New Years! Air kisses, Kris

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb