Goodbye and thank you Sydney/NSW/Australia..


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 25th 2007
Published: January 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tomorrow morning I leave Sydney and fly to Christchurch. I've had a truly excellent week here in NSW.

I'm sad to be leaving which is good because it means I've really felt at home here. Apart from the world famous sights it's a nice place just to hang out and eat cheap, ethnically diverse, food and drink good coffee. Whatever you want to do - it's here.

Like the other places I have visited, people have been helpful and courteous, almost without exception. Within 5 minutes of passing through immigration the woman behind the counter at "Travelex" advised me that it would be cheaper for me to obtain Aussie dollars from the nearby ATM than over her counter. 10 minutes later the girl at the station ticket window took time out to advise me that a "Sydney Pass" was uneccessarily expensive and that my needs would be fully met by a "Travelpass" at less than half the price (she was right, the "Travelpass" @ $41 for 7 days is excellent value and a convenient travel tool for almost any visitor to Sydney).

My 7 days has now expired so I'm having a lazy day today within easy walking
GoomblarGoomblarGoomblar

This guys an aboriginal elder(with an Irish wife and 9 kids I gather). The boomerang he's holding is one of many he has made and it now belongs to Thom (my youngest nephew).
distance of my hotel (the excellent and friendly Y South on Cleveland Street), which I would recommend to anybody.

I leave you with some parting images of this place.

Best regards to everybody - Glenn


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb