Christchurch, New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
January 27th 2007
Published: January 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Christchurch which is the southernmost point of my travels and easily the farthest from home I've ever been though, to quote (the guidebook quoting) Anthony Trollope : "The great drawback to New Zealand comes from the feeling that after crossing the world and journeying over so many thousand miles, you have not at all succeeded in getting away from England".

I can see his point but it certainly doesn't feel like a drawback and one has only to look at the nearby mountains and Scotland is equally evoked. Certainly Christchurch, as intended, is redolent of a type of Oxbridge Englishness, with it's small river (more like the Cam or the Test than the Hampshire Avon I think) overhung by willows and navigated by people seeking gentility in punts. Gentile seems like a good way to describe Christchurch. My hotel is delightfully situated at the edge of the very green Hagley park and it takes me about 20 pleasant minutes to walk through the park and the botanical gardens into the centre of this modest but quaint city, albeit with big town accessories such as the only Symphony Orchestra in the South Island of New Zealand.

I'm sitting just off the Cathedral Square which is pretty much the centre of the City. The Anglican Cathedral is not displeasing but modest by many standards, especially when one lives in Durham.

Overall it's a very pleasant, relaxing place with a very manageable climate (about 15C right now). I'm delighted to be here as I write in the early afternoon, mindful that most of you are 12 hours behind me and some of you haven't even got close to the end of yesterday. I'll now try to post a few photographs of this place.

Take care all - G

Advertisement



27th January 2007

Great
Looks fantastic. What is your hotel called, and is it good as we are needing one for 3 nights?
29th January 2007

catching up
great to read your log and to be part of your excursion in chch.after 23 years you still look the same which is rather annoying for me as sara said you look younger than me.enjoy the rest of our little paradise and travel safe.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb