Christmas in Sydney, Australia Instead of Papua New Guinea


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 30th 2023
Published: January 3rd 2024
Edit Blog Post

Sydney, Australia AirportSydney, Australia AirportSydney, Australia Airport

I Think This Maneuver Is Called the, “I Am Important So I Am Entitled to Get My Luggage Before Anybody Else Can Access the Carousel!”
Tour Days 75-81 – As soon as my friend, Arnold, learned I would be in Sydney for Christmas instead of New Year’s Eve, he suggested I join he, Frank, Mum and a few friends for Christmas dinner. I already knew Mum was visiting from Auckland, New Zealand for the Holidays. I accepted the invitation, and what a nice time I had. Somewhere along the way, I missed the instructions to life on the 36thfloor. Great views, wonderful food, nice folks and a memorable Christmas.

Other that the Blue Mountains Scenic Drive (and its many variations), there was only one Sydney attraction that held appeal, albeit in a different lifetime – the Sydney Harbour Bridge Climb. Yes, climbing up the eastern arch of the bridge to the summit and then down the western arch would probably reveal an “unrivaled panorama of the harbor” and its waters some 400 feet below, but it’s an activity my pulmonologist would suggest I omit. Thanks, doc! In fact, the activity is not even included on the first several pages of the tripadvisor.com and the viator.com search results (I’m sure renumeration plays a role in the omission). There are the normal harbor cruises, royal gardens and,
Misc. Around Sydney, AustraliaMisc. Around Sydney, AustraliaMisc. Around Sydney, Australia

The Corner Adjacent to My Hotel – Note the Train Approaching Central Station
of course, the opera house, but none of these piqued my interest. So, I limited my sightseeing adventures to the Hop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus Tour. My experience says that is a pretty good way for a visitor to get a sense of a city anyway. Both the City Tour (Red Route) and the Bondi Tour (Blue Route) make stops at Central Station, 1/2 mile or so from my hotel, so I was able to begin and end both loops at my doorstep. I took a break between tours to acquaint myself with the station (where I’ll catch the train to Melbourne a few days hence), to use to toilets and to grab a quick lunch. The tour was well worth the money and the time, but the labels affixed to some stops are sometimes misleading. For example, the “Sydney Fish Market” stop is not actually at the fish market but on “Harris St (outside the Post Office near the Pyrmont Bridge Rd intersection).” I’m sure the driver would gladly offer directions to the market, but the distance at the time of the ticket purchase is a matter of conjecture.


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Misc. Around Sydney, AustraliaMisc. Around Sydney, Australia
Misc. Around Sydney, Australia

I Wasn’t Really Hungry and Got an Appetizer from the Adjacent Japanese Restaurant– Scallop Dumplings
Christmas Dinner with Friends from My Tour of France in 2022Christmas Dinner with Friends from My Tour of France in 2022
Christmas Dinner with Friends from My Tour of France in 2022

The Only Direction with Any Kind of Obstructed View
Christmas Dinner with Friends from My Tour of France in 2022Christmas Dinner with Friends from My Tour of France in 2022
Christmas Dinner with Friends from My Tour of France in 2022

From Left – Noodles, Potatoes, Ham, Beef, Pork, Salmon (L) and Prawns (Philippine Style Made by Mun)
Misc. Around Sydney, AustraliaMisc. Around Sydney, Australia
Misc. Around Sydney, Australia

On the Way to Central Station
Bus Stop for Hop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus TourBus Stop for Hop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus Tour
Bus Stop for Hop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus Tour

It Begins and Ends Right Here at This Very Spot on the Face of the Earth
Hop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus Tour – City TourHop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus Tour – City Tour
Hop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus Tour – City Tour

The Sydney Bridge in, Where Else, Sydney, Australia!
Hop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus Tour – City TourHop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus Tour – City Tour
Hop-on, Hop-off Sydney Big Bus Tour – City Tour

Getting Ready for the New Year's Eve Crowds


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb