On the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
December 30th 2023
Published: January 3rd 2024
Edit Blog Post

On the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, AustraliaOn the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, AustraliaOn the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia

The Seats Were Sufficiently Comfortable but Lacked a USB Port for Electronics
Tour Days 82-87 – Melbourne, Australia –To keep the number of photos per blog entry manageable, I decided to separate out the photos of the Australian countryside which I took in the 11-hour, 50-minute daytime train trip (0740 to 1830) from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia. Somewhere along the line I had the impression that the train route went through the Blue Mountains. That was a major reason I wasn’t chomping at the bit to take a day trip to the mountains while I was in Sydney. The train route does not go through the mountains but through open range (where I got a glimpse of my first wild kangaroo) and bountiful farm lands. My seating companion was a semi-retired 60ish gentleman from Sydney who was born in Istanbul, Turkey but felt a calling to move to Israel on his own when he was in his late teens. His parents soon followed. After serving three years in the Israeli Army, he travelled to England and met an Aussie lady. The rest is, as they say, history. Very interesting! I hope you enjoy the photos of Tour Day 82 as much as I did the conversation; however, I am aware that some of
On the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, AustraliaOn the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, AustraliaOn the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia

Most of the 10-12 Stations Along the Way Were Old and Had Some Character
the photos have greater or lesser amounts of reflection from the train window. What can I say?


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

On the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, AustraliaOn the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia
On the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia

I Had Been Preparing to Take a Photo of Something Other Than a Tunnel Entrance
On the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, AustraliaOn the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia
On the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia

Several Towns Held Hints of a Thriving Railroad History
On the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, AustraliaOn the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia
On the Train from Sydney to Melbourne, Australia

I Got a Few Peeks at Our Locomotive


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb