G'Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Surrey Hills
January 18th 2007
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What's your poison?What's your poison?What's your poison?

Blowfish, or "Fugu", which Japanese delicasy contains a powerful toxin most of which is removed when it is expertly prepared. The residue of the toxin gives the dish it's characteristic taste. Supposedly nobody has died from Fugu poisoning for several years.
Well I've finally reached Sydney having got close to then crossed the equator for the first time in my life. Actually I'm really in Doncaster and I made the banner and.....

To backtrack slightly - I left my idyllic corner of Kyoto and finally got to Osaka after a one hour wait on the wrong platform at Kyoto station followed by a twelve minute train ride to Osaka on the "Shinkansen". Thereafter I spent a further hour trying to negotiate the local train system before wandering out of JR Namba station to spend three hours wandering around lost until an expat from the Potteries told me how to get to my modest but comfortable hotel. I had enough time to have a good look around Minami which district can only be the true model for "Bladerunner". I also dined on.. ??? Actually I wouldn't touch "Fugu" as, apart from anything else, I hear it tastes awful.


On Tuesday 16 Jan I left Osaka and flew to Hong Kong. I got an upgrade which was a most pleasant surprise, especially as I was dressed rather casually. Perhaps they thought I was some sort of sophisticate. Anyway it was a very relaxed and comfortable flight and I have acquired a nice light pair of slippers. Arigato ANA, Arigatao Nihon and Sayonara.

I spent less than 24 hours in Hong Kong and my hotel room in Kowloon was both tiny and spartan but it was worth it for the fabulous views over Hong Kong bay.

Yesterday's flight from Hong Kong to Singapore (Singapore Airlines) was a bit bumpy but generally OK. I got a free 2 hour tour of Singapore which was just the job both to kill some time and, of course, to let me see the place. If you find yourself in transit for 10 hours then Singapore Changi is as good an airport as any.

Now I've arrived in Sydney (courtesy of Singapore Airlines once more) and it's very hot and sunny. I've had a shave and shower and am sitting here in my teeshirt, shorts and tevas. My hotel is really nice and very friendly and life's good even though I'm somewhat fatigued at this precise moment.

It was really great to receive your messages and emails and I'll certainly have lots to discover and say about this iconic city over the next week or so.

Take care all - see you soon. G

Advertisement



18th January 2007

Glad you are having a good time.
19th January 2007

Singapore
What did you think of singapore? We go there first, then to Adelaide. By the way, you must have been wearing your famous multi emulsioned shorts to enable you to get an upgrade. Enjoy Sydney, or Doncaster, and don't forget to slap it on all over. Cheers from Durham, and all the Harriers too.
20th January 2007

Cheers
Thanks Alan et al for the comments and best wishes and, not least Wendy, for the info regarding "Travelblog" which is an excellent facility which has added greatly to my enjoyment of a fabulous trip thus far. Singapore? I was only in Transit there for 10 hours or so but Singapore Changi Airpoert is easily the most user friendly and relaxed major terminal I have passed through and altogether very pleasant. Singapore Airlines provide transit passengers with an optional free 2 hour bus tour of the city and it is scenic and attractive and, I gather, very safe and friendly. Certainly those natives at the airport where really nice and I think you'll enjoy and benefit from your stopover there. Hope you and yours enjoy your trip as much as I'm enjoying mine. Best regards to all - Glenn - PS - have ben out for my first run of the trip in Sydney.
20th January 2007

Thanks mate
Thanks mate -

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb