Kyoto - 14 January 2007


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Kyoto yesterday having spent my fourth, and last, night in Tokyo at the Asakusa Riverside Capsule Hotel. It was cheap, friendly and comfortable enough once the mild sense of claustrophobia had dissipated. I would recommend it to anybody who doesn't mind sharing their personal space.

The "Hikari" left Tokyo at precisely 12.06 p.m. and arrived at Kyoto's extremely impressive new station at exactly 14.43 having devoured several hundred miles between the two. The time went quicky thanks to: an excellent "Bento" box (packed lunch of suchi etc), the smoothness of the "Shinkansen" which dampened the sense of speed and the fact that Tokyo, Nagoya and Kyoto seem to form part of a single, unbroken conurbation extruded between the mountains and the sea.

My first impression of Kyoto was of another typically crowded city with no "obvious" aesthetic appeal. However, a twenty five minute bus ride brought me into a different world which surrounds the Buddhist Temple Complex of Nansenji where, I'm told, Rinzai Zen Bhuddism first developed. It's a magical suburb of tranquil leafy lanes with numerous imposing shrines set in beautiful and immaculately tended Zen gardens.
In keeping, the Ryokan Hogetsosu where I'm staying is traditional in the extreme as well as being very comfortable and superbly located.

I'm going to enjoy the rest of my stay in this haven of peace before, tomorrow, moving on to the good-humoured frenzy which is, allegedly, Osaka and my final location before flying on to Hong Kong.

I've really enjoyed my brief Japanese experience which has been a concentration of new insights and (almost all pleasant)gentle surprises. Not least of these has ben the food. Typically, last night I had a noodle dish and a rice dish (both delicious) and lots of "Ochi" (green tea) to drink - all for 890 yen or about 4 quid. One can pay much more for a meal if one chooses.

Now the sublime must make way for the practical and I'm going to look for a laundry after I've added a few photos hereto, fingers-crossed.

By the way, this PC is in a large and very modern community centre. It's very light and very airy and the bright sun is shining through the trees outside the huge windows. It's qood to be here.

Best regards to all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



14th January 2007

Travels
It was nice to hear from you and have enjoyed reading your blog. Keep adding more if you can as your trip continues. Happy New Year. Anne and Mike
20th January 2007

Thanks
Good to hear from you - am in Sydney and loving it. Hope you are not to affected by the awful weather back home - best regards - take care - Glenn

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb