It's a long way from Lanchester


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Asakusa
January 11th 2007
Published: January 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ⅰ arrived in Tokyo intact and still recognisably human after the long flight from London.

Im really enjoying my traditional, "Edo" style, accomodation and the City as a whole.

I'm eating, sleeping, bathing and even dressing Japanese,at least within the confines of the Ryokan and I'm making maximum use of the four words of Japanese I know.

I've travelled all over the City in the last couple of days and have found the people to be extremely helpful and civilised, apparently without exception.

The City itself is a place of obvious and very great contrasts. Towering modern temples are everwhere dedicated to the generation of wealth but there are very many other places where traditional Gods are worshipped as they have been for centuries. Such tradition prevails in the narrow streets which, everywhere, crowd the feet of the office blocks

I've got some good photographs but am as yet unable to download them I'll keep trying.

I went to a Sushi bar for today's lunch. I like most of what I've tried but not the ubiquitous "Wasabi" (hot horse radish paste - I think?). That's the closest thing to a negative I've got to report.

Tomorrow I move a short distance to a "capsule" hotel, just for fun and for one night.

On Saturday I catch the the 12.06 "Hikari" , "Shinkansen" from Tokyo to Kyoto where I'll spend 2 days.

I'm looking forward to it.

I'll post some more comments soon.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb