G'day Australia I'm leaving


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Randwick
December 4th 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ready or not I am leaving Australia. As I’ve found with most places, there are things to love, things that are hard to adjust to, and things I don’t like. I have had great fun while I’ve been here as well as hard times. I am going to miss Drew a lot. He has made my trip to Australia a memorable and happy one. I hope he comes to visit soon. It is the first week of summer here and I ask myself now why I had to schedule to leave so early.

I am satisfied with my travels around Australia given the time and money I had available. I have seen most of the eastern coast destination spots as well as Melbourne and Tasmania. I don’t know when I’ll be back in Australia but, next time I’ll be sure to take a vacation in the Whit Sundays.

Even though Australia is an English speaking and wealthy country it is very different from the United States. Many things, when you get down to details are easy going. Some examples I’ve come across; Kids can play in the fountains at the parks and in the city. Nudity on the beach is accepted and a casual demeanor. Drinking age is 18 and parents don’t pretend that their kids won’t be drinking. It’s reality in the public eye that kids drink. Many people run late to appointments, class or work and it’s ok, only a response of no worries. There just seems to be less rules about the petty things and people seem to respect most things to retain that freedom. If only!
There is different words and phrases used and English words are pronounced different.
They drive on the left side of the road.
They have colourful plastic money, and more logical coins.
Their toilets have a half flush and a full flush.
Power is 240watt vs 125watt and have switches to turn off standby power.
Reusable bags are the norm for grocery shopping.
BYO is everywhere.
They have long life milk.
Minimum wage is something like $14.
Fashion is bright neon colors and geometric shapes. Bermuda length skinny pants and skinny jeans.
Yum yum meat pies.
Rugby (footie).

I’m going to miss this land down under!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb