Almost Ready to Roll


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Parramatta
May 15th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok .. so its been a while since I have updated. There is a good reason for this however ..... I ain't gone yet! Have been getting things ready to go, and doing a few things around the house before I head off. Almost all done now.

I plan to head off around the 26th May and will post more regular updates when I am on the road.

I have added a few pics of my home for the next 3 - 4 months - set up in the backyard. Some apt words to describe it would be .... palatial, extravagant, homely. Ok ... small!! But it is only for moi and its not designed to house a big screen or queen size bed!

Anthony - I do need a name for my new home. Any ideas?

Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



16th May 2008

The Naming of Parts
Thats a mighty fine looking tent you got there partner! Frankly that seems a bit extravagant for a tent but its your world, I'm just living in it! If it was me I'd probably rock up to a camp site, remember how much effort it is likely to take to set the thing up and end up just toughing it on the back seat of the JGG. But I digress. A name for your tent.... its essentially your home.... a home with no discernable benefits to it other than the fact that there is probably about a 50% chance that it will keep the rain out and a 10% chance of keeping the wildlife out..... It bares distinct similarities to an out-house..... Leaves me with only one real option..... 'The Thunderbox!" Can I just point out at this stage that with the Jolly Green Giant bopping along the road with the shrek letters on the back and your thunderbox to sleep in, I would think that you have absolutely no chance of coming back from this trip as anything but a single, broken, shell of a man! But good luck with that! Cheers, Ant
20th May 2008

What the.....
heck is going on Rich? Didn't you learn from your lesson last time you went a globetrotting around Oz, or should I say half way round Oz, you big poof! Not like us well 'ard Northerners who braved the wind, rain, heat etc who actually completed their trot around that monstrous arid, fly infested, mozzie ridden utopia. I can mention one place not to stay - its not my Facebook in the middle of a rain forest - mozzies, spiders, lizard sh**you name it in your bed - far too shabby for Hethy Heth Heth Heth! Your humble abode does look palatial compared to your last dwelling as does the Jolly Green Giant, I would have preferred you named it the "Shaggin' Wagon" though. How long will it take until you have to literally "shoe horn" your way into the JGG because there's so much junk in it. I'll never forget me and San standing looking into your last car thinking "god, I've never seen so much shite in my life, there's only a hole for the driver to site in!" It was like a burrow and a nest to the drivers seat, everything else looked like debris from Hurricane Katrina. I pray you don't meet another "D" on your travels or pick up some other waif and strays along the way, unless of course they're British, then you can be sure to tag along with them cos you know they'll complete their trip! I will closely follow your travels and look forward to hearing all your news. If you manage to pick up a bride along the way, me and San look fab in taffeta so dont forget us when chosing your bridesmaids :o) On a serious note though Richard, stay safe and don't do anything I wouldn't do and be sure to change your watch in Coober Pedy! Take lots of care of you Heather xx
9th July 2008

The Tardis
I would have said the Tardis actually, not a bad looking little tent you have there though, as long as it keeps you warm, dry and mossie free, that is all that matters. Good luck on your travels!! Looking forward to hearing about Wichid's Merry Adventures with the Jolly Green Giant...sounds like some hippy story!!!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb