Goodbye Mid-Semester Break...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Opera House
April 29th 2009
Published: April 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Man, mid-semester break FLEW by! I don't know how 17 days can pass so quickly, it's ridiculous!!

I got back from Melbourne on Wednesday in the early afternoon, took a nice long nap, then went to my favorite restaurant in Sydney with my friend Rob from class, a tapas place called Firefly. It's AMAZING and it's right on the harbour with the harbour bridge in view! So pretty!

I think Thursday was a lazy day... I'm pretty sure I just laid around and didn't shower. Friday I went up to Macquarie (high five to me for doing this) and went to the library to do some work. I better get extra points for going to the library during my break!! After that I came home and crawled into bed... and shortly after my friend Dennis from work called me and told me him and some friends were in the Rocks and that I should come out for a beer. Seeing as Dennis and I barely work together, I said sure why not, crawled out of bed, and ended up having a really, really fun night out with him and his friends!

On Saturday I had big plans to head to the horse races with Rob and his friends! His one friend Mitch is 7 feet tall, so I looked like I could have been his child, haha, but he was really cool! Anyways, basically everyone gets REALLY dressed up and goes to Randwick for these races. So I wore my roommates dress, and not realizing how windy it was outside, ending showing 1/2 of Sydney my butt... awesome. I was so embarrassed, so I spent the rest of the day with my hands at my sides. It was really fun and was a beautiful day outside. I only placed one bet, a ONE DOLLAR bet, and had the chance of winning $12 bucks, but I lost. And that was the end of my gambling. After that, we decided to walk all the way back to Central station instead of taking the bus. Somewhere within that 40 minute block of time, my cell phone jumped out of my purse, NOOOO!! After that, Rob and I came back to my place and Raphaela and Dani were preparing to go out for Dani's birthday, and Dani's friend Alex was here as well, he was super cool. So Dani made this AMAZING pasta dish so Rob and I devoured that and a couple glasses of wine, then hung out with the foreigners for a bit. It was a really fun day and I'm hoping to get some friends to go to the races again before I leave!!

Sunday was uneventful & then Monday was the first day back to school. Life was strange not really having a phone or anyone's numbers, but I was surviving. Before my lecture on Monday, I looked at my phone I had been using for the past few days (the one I let my mom use when she was here) and I saw that I had a missed call from my old number! I was ecstatic!! So I called it and it was this Australian guy named Ryan who said he had found it by a park bench by a tree, which I then remembered I had sat down at to help my feet recover from wearing heels all day. So hallelujah, I was going to get my phone back!! I spent about 5 hours at the library on Monday AND Tuesday, and now here it is, Wednesday! I met Ryan at his work in North Sydney to get my phone this morning before class, I was really hoping that he was going to turn out to be some hot, Abercrombie model or something, haha. He did turn out to be a really nice guy though, possibly close to 30, and we ended up standing outside talking for 30 minutes. He was really nice and before I knew it I had missed my bus and my lecture! BUT lucky me, apparently there was a fire alarm, so lecture didn't even happen!

Now here I am, kicking school's butt! I thought I was gonna die these next 5 weeks since I have so many big assignments, but I am being ridiculously studious and getting SO much done. I'm really impressed with myself 😊 And I'm still in disbelief that I am coming home in 7 weeks! All I can say is that it is going to be SO BITTERSWEET!! Ahhhh!!

(pictures will be on here soon, the internet is just SLOW and I have no patience)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb