Sydney (part 2)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
November 16th 2011
Published: November 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Have been quite busy since my last entry, looking for jobs and an apartment. Not having much luck
with a job, think I'm giving up looking for now. Hopefully I've got a job for Jan and Feb though in a
place called Dubbo NSW, doing MRI, CT and generals. (When I first found out about the job I kept
calling it Guppo, and was getting a bit concerned when no-one had heard of it that it was in the
middle of nowhere.) Fingers crossed for that one. Have also found an apartment, I move in this
weekend. A friend of someone in my dorm, lives just outside of the city centre in Glebe, has a spare
room so I'm moving in with her. Very excited, I'll get to have my own room for a few weeks (a
novelty after living in hostels for nearly 4 weeks).
I've been to to Paddy's market near Darling Harbour (similar to the big outdoor Queen's Square
market in Melbourne), and on Friday evening went to the Rocks Bizarre (more like an outdoor
evening market for food, jewellery, souvenirs, clothes etc). Great atmosphere, loads of people
(mainly all buying food), and there was even a silent disco which of course I went to. (It made up
for never actually going at Reading festival, although this was only for a couple of mins to try it but
was certainly fun watching everyone dancing to silence. Have been to Watson's Bay and the Gap, a
bus ride about half an hour from where I'm staying. Was a pretty grey day so views weren't too great
but even still was good fun, got to escape the city for a bit, and also sample 'supposedly' the best
fish and chips in Sydney. Was very strange, instead of tartare sauce they served chilli plum sauce,
but was surprisingly good, definitely think we should have this at home. Yesterday I went to
Toronga Zoo. Had a great day, it's a huge place, kept getting side tracked and losing my way
around, good job I had a map otherwise pretty sure I'd have missed out a whole bunch of stuff. Saw
my first koala and kangaroo (even saw the kangaroo hop which was pretty cool, I got very excited).
When I was walking through the insect/spider section, a big drop of water fell on my neck, I nearly
jumped out of my skin thinking it was a spider or some creapy crawly. (Good job no-one was
around to see me).
Today though has definitely been the highlight of Sydney so far. I did the bridge climb. Amazing
experience absolutely loved it. The weather was fantastic (so glad I checked the forecast before I
booked) had clear blue skies and could see for miles. Didn't realize Sydney was quite so big until
today. It was such a beautiful sight to see all the tall city buildings and right next to it a mass of
greenery from the botanic gardens. Could've easily stood at the top looking out for the entire day
just taking it all in. Got my couple of souvenir photos too so I'm happy. My group was quite small,
5 of us, 3 Aussies and a girl from Scotland. We ended up having coffee after, she's a dentist going to
work in the outback (thought that sounded like a pretty cool job, shame I can't do that, obviously
not the dentistry). Tonight tried the traditional Australian dish (according to Lonely Planet Guide
Book this is the place to go). It's actually nothing special but something we all wanted to say we'd
tried. Pretty much just a steak pie, topped with mash, mushy peas and gravy. The place is called
Harry's Wheels and it's a van on the roadside with a couple of benches (was just like being back at
Reading again!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



20th November 2011

OMG!!!
Hey chick, sounds like you're having an absolutely amazing time!!! Needless to say I am missing you tonnes!!! Glad I wasn't with you in the insect secion...woulda run a mile!! The pics are amazing! Too jealous of all the surfing! Take care and keep enjoying the sun!!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb