Now in Glebe, Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Glebe
November 29th 2011
Published: November 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This week has been the hardest, trying to motivate myself and keep myself occupied. The weather's been pretty awful, been raining everyday and quite cold. (Didn't come prepared for that so constantly chilly with wet feet. Not what I signed up for!) Have given up on the radiography front, realize now that there's even more paperwork to do on top of what I'd already done, more letters from employer and copies of HPC certificate emailed over. Seems like never ending stress for what would only be a couple months work. On the plus side though I've moved into a house with a really nice woman a bit older than me but we get on well and have lots to talk about (it's nice to be able to talk English normally to someone without having to speak slowly and more simply for all the Europeans I've met. However am now starting to miss all the people around me. It's surprising how quickly I got used to being surrounded by people.) It's in a village called Glebe, just outside the city but still walking distance everywhere which I like. Definitely nice to have my own space again.

Have been to the Queen Victoria Building which was really pretty, they had the Xmas tree up. (A huge Swarovski tree which made me think of Sam.) There was also a stunning 'British history' clock suspended from the ceiling. (Elaine was right, lots of Japenese taking photos.) Last Saturday was definitely the best day since I got to Sydney. Spent the day at Bondi beach with my room mate and a couple of guys I met at breakfast. On the bus back got chatting to a guy and only after about half an hour realized he was Joe King from The Fray. They were over here for X Factor. That evening I went to the Opera House to see a ballet, The Merry Widow. Had really wanted to see something and was very lucky I got this ticket as they only had the really expensive tickets left. When I went to the booking office the woman said they had this one ticket left because it was a restricted view. It actually turned out to be pretty good I only missed a small part of the ballet and most of it was done in the middle of the stage anyway. It turned out to be an absolutely amazing evening and now I really want to go and see a ballet at home, Swan Lake I think.

Went to Newtown which I didn't think much of but I found 'Chocolate Heaven'. A cafe called Max Brenner Chocolate Bar. I'd heard about it and so when I saw it had to go and sample their chocolate pizza. Sounds a bit sickly but I was in heaven. Pizza base with melted milk chocolate, marshmallows, pineapple and chocolate crunchy pieces. Amazing.

This Saturday was Santa Fest Water Spectacular at Darling Harbour. On the way there passed the Sydney Entertainment Centre where there was the Schools Spectacular. A combination of different school performances dancing, bands, singing etc. One school was giving a demo outside. A steel band which I loved. They were all so good I was hooked spent ages watching them. The Santa Fest was also amazing. It was a parade of Santa's on different boats around the harbour. Rowing boats, jet skis, yachts and some floating presents. After the parade the 4 jet ski Santa's came back on with fireworks on the back and did a display combined with the normal firework display from the centre of the harbour. At the end one of the jet ski Santa's came on holding a torch. He went over to the Convention Centre at the edge of the harbour and lit a cable that led to the Xmas tree outside the building and the Xmas tree lights came on. A truelly magical night.

The last couple of days have been more 'holiday' weather, so did the coastal walk from Bondi to Coogee, took about 1 and ½ hours, and spent yesterday at Coogee beach. Had to make the most of it as weather forecast is rain and cold again over next few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb