Successes and Failures..


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » CBD
September 3rd 2013
Published: September 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well getting the second flight went much more smoothly. There was also nobody sat near me. Attempted a lay down sleep with four seats, five pillows and three blankets! Only downsides were that there were two screaming young children near me and a couple who did insist on kissing loudly and generally giving it massive amounts of pda. I had to drink yet more vodka to cope.

Two night flights in less than a 24 hour period is a bit odd though, don't know which way is up at the moment (although in Australia, so I'm obviously upside down anyway...). Yet again, Cathay Pacific were the tits. Lovely staff, good food and super strong drinks (no miniatures, just a very generous glugging method). Plus they had usb ports, so could charge my phone ready for landing. Would strongly recommend them.

Landed in Sydney at 9 in the morning. Got my bags with no issues. Even managed to sort a transfer easily and was at the hostel just after 10am. Was too early to get into my room though, but they let me have a shower and then dump my bag in the luggage room. Thought I'd go for a wander to see what was close by. Ended up on a marathon walk, saw the harbour bridge and the opera house. Was lovely. But true to form, foot then went on strike. Swelled up to mammoth proportions and started looking oozey and rank. Decided that was probably enough for one day and went back to the hostel. Could get into my room, unfortunately I've been placed in a room with people who have been there for about a month and who are working. The only one I've spoken to so far is Matius, a German guy who seems to have been here forever! Decided at 3pm that I needed a nap.. Error. I've just woken up, it's now 10pm and the rest of my room are now getting into bed. Have got up and was going to go for a couple of beers in the bar attached to the hostel (the scary canary) but looked in, it was rammed and it's karaoke night, all a bit much for my addled brain. Therefore went to woolworths, bought some crisps, water and chocolate then came back to the hostel. Thought I'd write this, do a bit of research for what to do tomorrow. Thinking of going whale watching, as they give you another pass if you don't see anything, so need a spare day incase.. Plus that's no walking really, just the walk to the harbour. Not sure my foot will allow me to do the blue Mountain trips, but will ask the travel desk tomorrow if there is one with minimal walking.

Feeling a bit lonely at the moment, everyone in the hostel seems to be in groups, but it will be ok I'll find some poor unsuspecting victim to bully into being my friend soon!

Xxx

Advertisement



4th September 2013

Come on Mr Foot!
Come on you stupid left foot! Heal the hell up! You have a continent to see and you're wasting time being icky and oozey. We will amputate you and throw you in the sea if you dont buck your ideas up.

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.17s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb