The Beginning....


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
September 2nd 2013
Published: September 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well, that first bit was a bit stressful! Got to the airport in good time as my lovely boyfriend Jamie drove me. Even had time to have a crappy cheap meal with him before catching my flight. Then the trouble began! Went to drop my bags off as I had already checked in, the lady scanned my passport and looked a bit worried... cue me starting to stress. She asked if I had a visa for Oz, I showed her the scrap of paperwork that I had for it, but said that STA Travel had sorted it and it should be ok. She still looked worried and toddled off to find a friend. She came back and said that my date of birth was wrong on the visa, so effectively I didn't have one. She rang the Australian Embassy and managed to sort it pretty quickly. She then went to check in my bags, casually saying that it would go straight through to Cairns and I would see it there.. I said that I hoped not, as I wanted to go to Sydney! Cue more stressing.. SHe said that although my paperwork said Sydney, I had been booked on the flight to Cairns. Eeep! She toddled off again to find a friend. Came back a couple of times to ask if I had any other paperwork, explained that I didn't and off she went yet again. Anyway, turns out that due to the problem with my visa, their computer system decided to go a bit mental and started to show all the details for the passenger that had checked in just before me! So that was then sorted. Argh. The lady was lovely and very apologetic. I then said that all the stress has made me want gin, she said that it had to her too! Anyway, then got through security with no issues. Sat by the gate for 15mins, rang the usual suspects (Mum and J) to say toodles. Then away I flew..

Cathay Pacific airways are freakin awesome! Massive amounts of space in the plane, not especially anymore legroom, but seems to be a lot of head room, didn't feel the usual claustrophobia. Sat in the middle row of seats on the aisle, was only 3 seats in the middle instead of the usual 4 and so nobody bothered me to get up. Win. Plus the food was like chinese takeaway!! And vodka on tap. Managed to get a few hours of uncomfortable sleep, watch Monsters University and the Hangover part 3. And, the best bit.... Not one screaming brat child!!! All makes for a reasonably happy Jen.

Have 4 hours to kill now in Hong Kong airport.. Hence starting a blog. Wasn't going to, but gives me something to occupy my tiny mind when I can't skype the usuals. Have skype (jenwood1255) and viber if anyone feels inclined to keep my occupied!

Right then, better publish the details of this on faceache in the vague hope that someone would give two hoots and read it!

Laterz all... Xxxx

Advertisement



3rd September 2013

Enjoy
Hi Jen, hope things are going ok now and you are enjoying yourself
3rd September 2013

Hope the sun is shining on you!!! Big hugs XXX

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb