A hostel to myself


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Port Stephens
September 19th 2007
Published: September 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


ViewViewView

Views from top of head
After escaping the rush of Sydney I decided that Port Stephens would be a good choice. The hostel I picked was located right near Anna Bay. When I showed up I was the only dorm resident. It was actually really nice to have the whole dorm to myself but also a little unsettling. There were tons of crazy sounds all night coming from the bush. My room was basically located right in the middle of the woods. The hostel was a ways off the beaten path so I needed to catch a shuttle everywhere and it runs very infrequently on the weekends. The day I arrived I caught a bus in to Nelson Bay where I wandered the port and got some coffee. I returned early and found the hostel still empty. It was a slow night to say the least.
The next day I got up early and went for a run where I managed to see a wild koala for the first time. This time I headed towards Shoal Bay where I took a short hike up to Tomarree Head that overlooked all of Port Stephens. See pictures. Again I just kicked around the town and stopped
Shoal BayShoal BayShoal Bay

Shoal Bay from top
by a local beach before heading back. In search of a little more social interation I'll be heading North to Port Macquarie.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Nelson BayNelson Bay
Nelson Bay

Nelson Bay overlooking the protected marine life area
Top of headTop of head
Top of head

Top of Tomarree Head
Watch OutWatch Out
Watch Out

A sign warning about the wild koalas


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb