Port Macquarie & Magpies


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Port Macquarie
September 19th 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

RainforestRainforestRainforest

Another rainforest picture
After leaving a very slow Port Stephens behind, I was headed north towards Port Macquarie. It is small port located about 6 hours north of Sydney. It sits on the farth south end of the sub-tropical rainforest and is home to the largest population of wild Koalas. I caught an early bus and arrived around 1:30. After getting settled I wandered to town for Starbucks Coffee. The only place in Australia to get a cup of drip coffee. Everywhere either serves instant coffee or espresso style. I've been spending my money on expensive coffee rather than booze.

I was up early the following day for a tour around the town. The bike only had one gear and to stop you needed to slam down backwards on the petals. This if fine if I was 7 years old again...I'm bitter after I ate it later that day because of those brakes. Stop one was the koala hospital to see injured koalas who have mainly been hit by cars. The remaining koalas all had nasty cases of chlimydia, no joke. I guess it is pretty common among koalas.

Following the koalas with STD I went on a rainforest walk. I chose
Injured KoalaInjured KoalaInjured Koala

Koala hit by car...now at hospital
a poor time to go on this walk. Usually there is plenty of wildlife that can easily be viewed. About 50 yards into the trail I pass by a large group special need students who were very excited about the walk. They continue to scream and yell which eliminated any chance of seeing wildlife but still a beautiful walk.

On my return trip I cruise along and check out the town beaches. I reach the street where my hostel is and I take off my helmet and start to walk my bike. All the sudden something drills me right in the back of the head. Turning around I expected to see someone, but all I see is a damn magpie. I remember these from before, they will dive bomb and actually hit you if you get too close to their nest. I start to sprint to the hostel with bike in tow and they chase me to the front door. Sitting around the hostel later, 4-5 people had the same incident occur earlier in the day. I took a different route to town from then on.

I'm off to the hippie commune of Byron Bay tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

RainforestRainforest
Rainforest

Path in rain forest walk
GoannaGoanna
Goanna

5' goanna that walked in during lunch


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb