A Little Bit of Everywhere


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Newcastle
May 28th 2010
Published: August 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -32.9264, 151.781

Well, I have been back for almost three months, So what have I been up to since?
Well, after and amazing trip to India and Nepal and a week in Adelaide, it was time to hit the road again for work. I would return to Newcastle where I had spent 6 weeks previous to my overseas trip.
I stayed in Newcastle for 10 days and then had work up north in Moree.
Luisa and I drove up over the Easter long weekend and stayed in Port Maquarie, Coffs Harbour and Byron Bay in the back of my car. With no matress, it makes for a uncomfortable nights sleep.
Luisa was loving the free coffee and buscuits at the drivier reviver stops.
After dropping Luisa off in Byron Bay, I then enjoyed a 6hr drive west, inland to Moree to meet with the others at a motel.
We had work all lined up for the week but due to our delivery being sent to Sydney we were forced to wait for 3 days. There was nothing in Moree to do so it was pretty much lazying about at the motel. There was a hot springs pool just around the corner which we went to for a couple of times and I did hit up the skate park a few times, but It was a pretty boring week.
We had a few schools right on the NSW/Queensland border for the Friday and the Monday, and as there wasn't anything to do we all took advantage of going away for the night.
The other three stayed in Brisbane for the night and I stayed in Toowoomba.
I drove to Toowoomba to see a my friend Megan who I had met in New Zealand Last year.
It was really great to catchup. We went bowling and she took me around town and to the lookout which faces Brisbane but is too far away to see.
For the following Friday we had a school in Tamworth, so we all drove down and stayed at the YHA there. It was fairly quiet. Our room mate Syed from India had a job at a abattoir where he blessed chickens before they got slaughtered and killed them if they somehow survived.
I checked out the Golden Guitar and a lookout over Tamworth. I was only there for a couple of days before Sean and I had to head back to Newcastle.
We got back to Newcastle for the strart of the week. I got in to a car accident that week which was so annoying. It took 10 days for the car to get fixed, meanwhile I was reduced to catching Buses and Ferry's to schools. And due to film not being delivered on time I was forced to catch the train to Sydney and work there for a couple of days. It was horrible in Sydney, I never like it there, we spent 1.5hrs getting to our school in the morning due to traffic, and a tad less getting back after working a 11hr day.
So I took Sean's car back up to Newcastle.
The next week we were at the Brewery when I ran in to Jamie and Paul, a Canadian couple who I had met on the Mount Everest Base Camp Trek a couple of times. It was so amazing, cause they recognized me. A "Small World" moment as they were only in Australia for 2 weeks.
So taking advantage of their lazy beach days and the ANZAC long weekend we went for a day trip to the Hunter Valley and a night trip tp the Blue Mountains.
I had a lot of fun with Jamie and Paul, Cheese, Wine, Olive and Chocolate tasting as well as walks in the Blue Mountains and cooking up Kangaroo Steak dinners. Great times and Great memories. Sadly they had to go to New Zealand, but I look forward to seeing them in Canada one day.
So the last month I have been in Newcastle, working hard. haha even I don't believe that.
We went and saw Jen play a gig which was really good, Go Jen! And went down to Sydney for a night to have one last shindig with Liisa and Meret.
I've spent quite a bit of time here in Newcastle and I'm going to miss it and Backpackers Newcastle. I have met so many cool people here and had some major fun.

So I'm off to the next area which will be down near Nowra, south of Wollongong, I haven't been there before so yet another adventure to seek out!




Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb